Rusty and Not Ready

 

I motored down the river in Pelican to River Heads on 15.10.12 and stayed four days to explore and of course pick up any likely looking drift wood to work with. As usual with the digital camera, the new one! Panasonic DMC-FZ100 Power shot with 30X zoom  I took around 700 pics. I often set the camera to rapid shots, taking 5 shots one after each other and that allows me to go back through them and edit out ones that aren’t up to scratch.
 
The Pelican feeding in the shallows and the flock taking off were great. One grey morning sunrise with still calm waters and broken cloud cover was pretty nice, also some of the mangroves taken right on sunset when the light was a soft red highlighted the interesting shape of the trunks and stilt roots.
 
One highlight was discovering an 140 yr old steam boat, iron hulled, rusty in the mangroves at South Head. I don’t know who knows about it or what is was called but I’m going to research it. It was a about 12 mt long, canoe stern with riveted iron hull. The boiler looks intact enough although the hull is badly rusted, the stern prop shaft tube and rudder are visible but the steam engine, shaft and prop are gone. There are a couple of barges on Fraser Island but I’ve never seen a steam boat before. It had a canoe stern as I said with a large pipe tube set low down to the prop which would have taken the tow hawser allowing it to pull low down and move sideways.

Log in to write a note
October 25, 2012

I just have to say when I saw the pics, the thought that entered my head was boys and their toys. It never ends, the interest you have in anything of this nature. Such a joy to see. Thank you for reading and for your note and the song. it was beautiful and I appreciated it very much Kristine x

October 26, 2012

Hi Pat I have been reading your notes but the first two have incomplete sentences. Is there any way you can fix that so I can understand what you are saying. Thank you Kristine