Floods

 
 
After a very dry 3 months till Jan 2013 the rain started with storms and strong winds. I watched the radar and river height data on the Internet. At 3am on the 25th of Jan. I moved my yacht Pelican in amongst the mangroves and pulled the aluminum walkway onto the pontoon and floated it in next to Pelican.
 
All being secure I started  cleaning up the lower yard as the rising flood water chased  me into the workshop as I packed up tools. A friend came by and helped chain block the wood thicknessor and band saw up to the roof and we continued to remove as much wood and tools as we could until I was waist deep in water.
 
It had happened, the workshop flooded and over the next days I watched as it resembled a giant washing machine with wood, tins and rubbish all churning around. The flood peaked and friends came and helped clean up filling a skip bin with wood and tools.
We washed down the concrete and then spent the next 3 weeks cleaning tools and repairing cupboards and shelves till all was in order again.
 
Then we had a second flood on 24th of Feb which did not go as high only entering the garden. I moved Pelican to the Marina as the walkway built two years ago slipped into the river. Now the contractors have come and lifted out the damaged walkway and cut and removed collapsed concrete driveway so I can start to rebuild. A large Blue Gum was tilting precariously over the river where my yacht should be so I wired it back and dropped it along the river bank and chain sawed it up.
 
Now I’m looking forward to restoring the walkway and pontoon over the next few months. Other people around the district haven’t got off as lightly as I have with their houses inundated, roofs torn off by tornados and boats washed down river and sunk.
 
Would like a dry winter now!
 

Log in to write a note
April 12, 2013

It sounds like a lot of work.

April 12, 2013

Oh my, Patrick. I had no idea this was happening as I don’t watch television. So, so sorry for all your losses, though I am impressed with the friends who turned out to help you prepare and recover from the waters. Any chance that Blue Gum is wood worthy of a ramp or wood working in the future. I am heart broken for you. Be well, dear man.