Early Morning Half Light

 

In the early morning grey
a time ‘tween sleep and wake
I drifted into dreams
and was suddenly awake
My children were all there with me
and it was long ago
They were but young children
And now they all have grown
We travelled to the seaside
a family holiday together
Then in a grey predawn moment
my Susan was not with me
Susan was now sixteen
and decided to be alone
No longer would I feel
our family was at one
I woke with such foreboding
I struggled with my mind
I reached out to find reality
in the time I’d left behind
I am no longer young now
my children have all grown
my grandchildren  have all left
their siblings family home
Still this feeling haunts me
I feel so all alone
my oldest daughter
has now left me
in the early morning half light
between nights giving moment
I struggle into the daylight
to regain my sanity
And find myself again

Log in to write a note
May 16, 2013

Hugs.

May 16, 2013

lovely. hugs p

May 18, 2013

So glad you and Pelican survived the floods! And that your getting out and about doing some interesting trips 🙂 nice to catch up with you again. Lovely poems .. Poignant.. 🙂

May 19, 2013

I truly hate life, and your poem reminds me why. what a heartfelt man you are. So worthy of love xxx

May 19, 2013

ryn: when i spoke of hating life I was talking of what you wrote of that so many deal with each and every day. There is so much pain and suffering and it drags us all through the mud and drags our souls through the glass and rubble on the ground we have tried so hard to mend and toil. You have conquered, go you so many don’t. xx

May 19, 2013

You know blame is one of the greatest things for keeping us all stuck.