Free Time? Where?!

Okay, so it’s been a really long since I’ve had free time. It’s amazing, this week, I’ve eaten every day and slept at least 6 hours every night. It’s a new record for me. It’s all about to end next week too, now that crew rotations are starting up again and I’ve got big term papers coming up.

Soo, I’m transferring. Yes. Again. A fourth school. But ya know, I really don’t think it’s that big of a deal. I also think that I have the subconcious urge to move all the time. I can’t just stay in one place, cause I’ve been moved around my whole life. But yeah, I have no real attachment to this school. Haven’t really made any friends that I’m going to really miss that terribly. Mostly cause I’ve been incredibly antisocial, which is what happens when i start getting engulfed into the art scene.

So yeah, I’m not longer going to major in Scene Design. Just going for fine arts. Not sure exactly what I want to do, but I know I eventually want to open my own gallery/coffee house. Or maybe do some art therapy. Either way, I don’t want to be restricted to just working in theatre or film my whole life. At least with a fine arts degree, and a minor in tech theatre, I’ll be able to pick up odd jobs here and there. I’ve also decided that I do too many other things to dedicate my life solely to theatre. I march Drum Corps, I do slam poetry, I tech marching band, build props and stuff for said corps and marching band, and play an array of instruments. I’m not willing to give everything up for one thing. Cause at least with a fine arts major I can work a multitude of jobs and still have time for everything else in my life. Where as theatre is unstable (Part of Broadway is shut down right now ya know, cause stage hands are being treated like poo) and it’s very time consuming.

Not that i don’t enjoy theatre, and find some enjoyment in the things I am doing here (Scene Shop rotation was pretty cool, yay Rigging!) and not that I’m not going to be involved in it whenever the oppurtunity presents itself. But I’m not passionate about it enough to wrap my whole life around it. Well, I’ve reiterated THAT a million times now. But I’m also a writer, and isn’t a novel just reiterating the same idea through a plot of images that all convey the same messages? *cough* Anyways.

So tonight, going to see Purchase’s production of As You Like It which is the show I just worked on. Should be fun. It’s Shakespeare and one of my favorite Shakespeares. I don’t have much else to do that can’t wait till tomorrow, which is going to be "work on sculpture and readings" day. I was SUPPOSED to see As You Like It before Dramatic Structure this morning, but it’s easy to get away with not seeing it in that class since there’s like…..a ton of people in that class and I don’t think I’ve raised my hand once. But I do have an A. Fantastic isn’t it?

Then Sunday I have a load out, and I’m on electrics. So I have to strike lots of lights and cable which is annoying as hell and one of my least favorite parts of tech theatre. But then I’m on rigging Monday and Tuesday.

Maybe I’ll get to do rigging Sunday as well? Here’s to hoping.

Cause I’d rather just tie nots and fly stuff in and out.

Yeah, now I don’t feel so neglectful.

-Moose

Log in to write a note