sex on a plate

I made the most awesome cake yesterday. No-one I know seems to have any idea what a hummingbird cake is, so in case you are in the same boat (and if for some reason you remotely care), I will now describe my cake. It has cinnamon, bananas, pineapple and pecan nuts in it. It is 3 layers and all the fruit makes it really moist. It is all sandwiched together with some delicious icing and more pecan nuts are scattered on the top. And numnumnumnumnum. Tom had a slice and I tried a little bit and dear God it is good. I have never been so upset to be on a diet. I would have loved a really big slice to myself.

(Have I mentioned I’m on a diet? I’ve lost 2.5kg so far so I’m quite pleased with myself. Even my skinny jeans are feeling a bit looser).

I may be made permanent at work soon. There has been talk of it and I had to bring in a copy of my CV so fingers crossed. I still love it there. Everyone is so nice. I guess this must be what it’s like to be appreciated at work. It may even be (gasp) job satisfaction. I don’t know, maybe I have no ambitions, it is really a pretty menial job for pretty shit money, but I do love it there.

The sale on my parents’ house fell through, but now they have buyers for both of the houses so hopefully it will all be sorted soon. I hate how stressed they are about it. If this doesn’t work out I think they may well be bankrupt soon. I wish I had a lot of money so I could just give them some.

I’m still enjoying my Shakespeare course, still trying to decide what to do next. Nearly ready to start doing my first essay for this one – bit scared. Did I mention I got my mark back for my Leonardo essay? I got 84, which I was really pleased with, and it was better than my first essay so that was all good.

I think there were other things to write about, but I forget.

Ah well.

Log in to write a note
February 21, 2011

Random: I’ve heard of hummingbird cake once before and I wanted to make it so badly, but my husband doesn’t like fruit in cake. 🙁 Maybe I’ll just make an entire cake for myself.

February 21, 2011

so you want to make me a cake and fedEx it to me? lol

February 22, 2011

oh, and congrats on losing weight!

February 27, 2011