95.

95 – Make an effort to buy The Big Issue instead of walking past the people selling it and feeling guilty, and have at least 5 copies to show for it.

I’ve always liked The Big Issue; I know some people who don’t agree with it, but I’ve always thought of it as something worth supporting. However, until recently I’ve never really bought that many copies. Before I went to uni I wasn’t generally approached to buy it, I suppose because I looked too young. And then when I went to uni, being in a city where there were numerous different people selling The Big Issue, as well as other people asking for money made it somehow easier to ignore. I guess you got used to it, and also thought that you couldn’t help all of them, plus I was a poor student, etc., etc., so it was easy to make excuses. But i’ve since decided that there isn’t really an excuse – I can afford to buy it and I should do so. Plus in Malvern, there is one man who sells The Big Issue, always the same guy, and he’s started to recognise me now, which is nice, so I don’t have any dilemna about who to buy it from, which makes it easier.

Anyway, I’m considering this task completed as I’ve got the designated number of copies, but I will continue to do this, buying the magazine whenever I have the chance.

Log in to write a note