6.

6 – Complete Eeyore cross-stitch for Chris’s birthday.

Two of my friends’ parents have a flat in Fishguard, and we seem to end up going there every summer. It’s just a little town with basically nothing there, but it does have a shop that sells lots of cross-stitches. This is somewhere I have to go every time we stay there, and I always end up buying something. Last summer we stayed there for about a week and I visited the shop, but couldn’t find anything I really liked. They did have a few nice things in the window, which were all children’s characters. I was thinking about getting one of Jemima Puddleduck and was talking to my friend Chris about this. We went past the shop on the way out to a meal (not just me and Chris – everyone) and stopped to look in the window. They also had some Winnie the Pooh cross-stitches and Chris made the comment that I should get an Eeyore one as Eeyore was one of his favourite characters. So the next day I went back in secret and bought not just the Jemima Puddleduck cross-stitch, but also the Eeyore one. I then completed this cross-stitch with the intention of giving it to Chris for his birthday. It was actually quite a challenge to complete it. I got about quarter of the way through and realised that I should have been using single strands instead of double strands (first cross-stitch I have ever seen where that was the case) and so was going to run out of thread very soon. Needless to say, the shop I usually get my threads from only sells DMC so I had to buy some Anchor threads off the internet. But I finished it in the end and then my daddy framed it for me:

I was quite pleased with it when it was finished. It was actually Chris’s birthday a week or so ago, but I didn’t expect to be able to give it to him for a while as he isn’t home for summer yet. But he actually came home for the night last Tuesday so I gave him his birthday present then. He seemed quite happy with it.

Log in to write a note