46.

46 – Take part in the World Vision 24 hour famine.

This is something that I did for about 3 years when I was younger – basically you get people to sponsor you to not eat for 24 hours. I always thought it was quite a good thing to do and decided to put it on my list so I can start doing it again. This year it was raising money for people in Jaipur where there is a high proportion of people with HIV and AIDS. I did the actual fast last weekend. We went out for a meal on the Friday evening and I started the fast as soon as I finished eating at the meal. I found it quite challenging, but not as difficult as I’d expected. I did feel quite hungry, but just kept thinking about the amount of hours I had to go. It also helped that I’m dieting at the moment – when I’ve done this in the past i found that I would go to eat something without even thinking about it, but that didn’t happen this time, I suppose because I’m giving more thought to what I’m eating in general right now. It also helped that I spent a lot of the Saturday asleep. I made it to the end of the 24 hours, and then I ate pretty much solidly for about half an hour. It wasn’t actually very satisfying because all I had to eat was some ryvita and some fruit. I didn’t actually raise very much money, due partly to not having any friends, and partly to leaving it til the night before to ask people to sponsor me. I sponsored myself just to get the total up a bit and in the end I sent them a cheque for £45 – not a great amount, but I’m still quite proud of myself for having done it.

Log in to write a note