Secrets

Dear Diary, I wanna tell my secrets. You’re the only one that I know who’ll keep them.

Or something like that. It’s a Pink song. I’m not sure if I have the words exactly right. But right now I agree with her.

I’m tired of keeping my secrets. I don’t really know what to do about it, other than acknowledge them and admit my weariness.

I keep secrets at work and from my family and friends. Coming out, telling people about my sexual orientation didn’t end all my problems as I had hoped. It seems my problems are deeper that I cared to pretend.

Strength-based. At work, strength-based is a term we use a lot. It means that in working with people with problems, we believe it is a best to build on their strengths while shoring up weak areas.

So what are my strengths? And how can I use them to shore up my weak areas?

Log in to write a note

there is rarly a one-shot way out of personal stuff. when it comes down to it, there isnt usually a lot to do externally. whats important is introspection and ego integrity. catch-phrases, sure, but true. basing your self esteem and happiness on anyhting outside of yourself is dangerous. there are no garantees that those things will remain.

thats not to say that you cant take pleasure, strength and reassurance form the world and friends, but just that if its all you have you are going to fall eventually. you have to deveplope a strong base inside yourself, a place from which and onto which other things build. if you can develop that, then if the world crashes down around you, you still will have footing.