Me and God

We used to be pretty tight.  We’d go places and hang out, and generally things were aces between us.  Even so, there was a distance.  It’s like I would talk, and there’d be no answer.  And then I’d be like, hello?  Are you listening to me?

I went through a phase where I was really concerned.  I wondered if maybe I wasn’t putting enough into the relationship.  So I would try to be more present, you know, more available.  But it didn’t seem to make a difference.  Eventually, I started to become apathetic to the situation. 

Nowadays, I guess we’re kind of separated.  I kind of think that this is just where this relationship is going to be for awhile.  And I have to believe that that’s okay.  Because I can’t wreck myself with worry about it.  I’m certain neither of us want that.

Log in to write a note
June 14, 2005

I don’t care what anyone says, God’s a tough guy to get close to. He’s not exactly a shoulder you can cry on. Hell, when was the last time he bought you Ben and Jerry’s after a particularly rough break-up? He’s kinda like a cross-country friend’s voice mail; you can talk all you want, but you have no idea if it gets through no matter how badly you need to talk to him. :-

June 16, 2005

Perhaps He speaks to us in ways that are different than what we are used to… Subtle ways that the heart hears but our minds pay no attention to. Kind of like subliminal messages in nature and song, or in the advice of a friend. While the Bible is His book, I don’t think He is confined to it… And since He is above human understanding perhaps the only way to communicate with Him is through love.

June 16, 2005

And that makes sense, because the Bible does say that God is Love. So what better way to communicate with Love than with love? Sounds mushy, but meh, ya never know…