Backache

I hurt my back on Thursday.  In the shower.  I just felt it ‘give’.  There was no pop or crack or anything.  All of a sudden I felt it move and it hurt.  I still don’t know how I got myself together and went to to work.  I went to the doctor, and he said I didn’t damage a disc.  What I did do, he didn’t say.  I didn’t ask, I just wanted to get home.  I was given muscle relaxers and painkillers and a pamphlet.  It’s now three days later.  I feel better but I don’t know if that’s just because of medication.  Sometimes it feels like the meds have worn off and my back is as frozen as it was on Thursday.  The pain is less, though, so that must be a good sign.  I’m supposed to take it easy, but meanwhile I’m running out of clean clothes. 

I walk like an old man most of the time – hunched part way over with my arms swinging  in an odd fashion.  I remember this kid in junior high and high school who had a curved spine.  He walked like I do now.  Poor kid never had a chance; everyone teased him mercilessly.  I don’t remember if I teased him or not.  I sometimes participated in teasing; I think it was out of relief – someone else was the object of ridicule for once instead of me, thank God. 

 

Log in to write a note