Transitions?

Well. My trip home for the holidays is over.

Somehow, I thought I’d have all these things to say about the trip, but as I sit here, on the flight home, I find that I have remarkably little to say.  I figured that there would be some big revelation that would hit me, but really there wasn’t.  I figured there would be some strife or some major issue that would come up, and I’d spend half of my time at home trying to fix some problem someone was having.  But that didn’t happen either.  What did happen, you ask?  Well, let me sum it up for you.

In the month I was home, I spent lots of time with my family, especially my mom and dad and brother and sister-in-law.  I also spent a lot of time with Brittany.  And it was really quite nice.  It’s a strange thing to realize that you’ve missed people so much that you filled your life with other things to make yourself forget how much you missed them.  It’s also strange to come to the conclusion that the place you’ve come home to visit is still home, no matter how much you told yourself when you moved away that it was for good.

I’ll confess to you that I don’t really want to come back to Denver.  It’s not that I don’t love my friends here, or that I don’t like my roommates.  Really, I like them quite a lot. But I love the people at home more, and it’s really starting to hurt me that I’m not as big a part of their lives as I’d like to be.  I’m too distant now to be included in the day-to-day.  At the end of the last semester, I had the feeling that I was sick of Seminary and just wanted to quit.  Now, as I sit on this 737, rifling back to Denver, I know that the explanation I gave myself at the time (that it was normal to feel that way when you’re burned out) isn’t going to cover it anymore.  I want to go home.  I’m tired, I’m alone, and I want to have a normal life again.  I’ve been in school now continuously (not counting summer and winter breaks) since I was 5 years old.  I’m 25.  20 years feels like enough.  I want to work.  I want to teach.  I want to live like a normal person for a while.  I’m sick of being a student. Don’t get me wrong, I want to finish my M.Div.  I just don’t want to do it anymore at the expense of everything else.  I want to go to school part time, and teach and get myself out of the debt I’ve slowly fallen into for the last 7 years, since I started my undergrad.  And I can see a way I can do that.  I see it right in front of me.  And suddenly, everything seems to make sense.

I’m trying not to make too much of this in my head.  I know how I get when I get excited about stuff, and so I’m waiting to spend a couple of weeks back at home in Denver before I really start taking stock of what this might mean.  But I know what I felt when I started thinking about ways I could go home for a while, and I can tell you those feelings have been there for a long time.  It’s clear to me now that even when I moved to Denver, it didn’t take me long to cultivate the desire to go right back.

I’ve taken some abuse for that from my roommates and a few other people.  For a while, it really bothered me.  Right now, as I sit here, I can tell you that I would stand up to all that abuse to just go home and be normal.  My life is exactly that.  I will not be a slave to people’s perceptions and expectations of me.  I won’t do it.  There are too many perceptions and expectations on me from various different quarters that I will never be able to please everyone.  So then, ultimately, it all comes down to what I have to do to please myself.  That ultimately always means pleasing God first.  He knows better than I do what is best for me, and his expectations are the only ones that really interest me.  I need to figure out a way to make everyone else understand me better without trying to explain it to them, because it feels like people don’t trust me when I talk about myself, like somehow I don’t know this important thing about me.  *shrugs*

This semester is going to be a drag.  I’m trying to take 17 credits this semester, and still work 3 days a week.  If it ends up working that way, I’m going to have to hop on it real quick,or I’m going to get buried early and never recover.  I also need to explore my options for next fall.  There have been some developments that have me questioning where it is exactly I belong.  Next fall is when this stuff starts falling into importance, as I have a variety of options for what I’ll be doing.  I need to figure out which options are feasible and which ones are not so I can get my mind around the different aspects of each option.

I’m sick of typing right now, and we’re going through some serious turbulence, so I’m going to stop for a while.  More on this to come. I hope you’re all doing well, and that your new year has begun well. Blessings.

Log in to write a note
January 19, 2005

I really liked reading this entry and seeing the thoughts of yours with ideas budding behind them. You seem to have come to a realisation in a calm, sure kind of way. I like that. I’ve only been a student for a year and I’m finding it so hard. How have you managed to do it for so long?

January 20, 2005

When I was in school I had to compeletely put everyone and everything to the side and just constantly tell myself it would all be worth it in the end. And it has, and then some. I was a long way there though. I lost a lot on the way, but true friends and family, the people and places that love you…will never forget you or turn there back, they will always be there. I hope you can do it all.

January 20, 2005

I very clearly remember those feelings, especially during my last semester (which was, last semester). I was student teaching 50 hours per week and the whole time I was wondering what I was doing and why wasn’t it going faster and that I was so ready to get out in my own room with my own kids and teach. I think it happens to all of us.

January 20, 2005

P.S. thank you for writing about what it is like to be at school away from home. I can now finally understand my husband’s perspective on moving 1200 miles away and leaving behind everything he knows.

January 20, 2005

Nick, I would have to agree with Mr. SpongeBob :). You came to the same conclusion when you met Brittany. And I can’t help but think that you’re almost trying too hard to find a reason to go back home? I will be praying for God’s wsdm and discernment, and more importantly clearity. It’s so easy to make ourselves believe that what we want is what God wants for us. Ps. 121:1-8; Pr.3:5-6; Jer. 17:

January 20, 2005

Please don’t take me wrong – I’m not saying that I think you shouldn’t go back home, just praying that the Lord’s Will, will be clear. ‘Stretching’ always proceeds growth :). Matthew 11:28 & 29

January 20, 2005

And maybe seminary is for later on. The best advice that was given to me – it was actually from Nate Walker, was that God will open doors and He will close doors, just be aware of what door he’s opening and what door he’s closing. I went to Ozark out of obedience. I knew we couldn’t afford, but I knew that if that was where God wanted me to go then he would provide a means…

January 20, 2005

(cont’d)…and even if I was just suppose to go down their and turn around and come right back, I was completely at peace with it. I could see God closing doors and seeing some swing wide open. Just keep listening :).

Next time you’re home (summer), I’m going to have a calendar of three/four months. I will give this to you for a week. When it’s returned, I want as many possible days marked that you could possibly hang out. Cause chatting once in your driveway and then chillin’ for the Packer disaster was simply not enough. And thanks for calling about Sunday football before you left. Punk ass….

Straight messin’ yo. It was good to see you, however little time you had to spare. More to come in the summer hopefully. Word.

January 27, 2005

RYN: Newest entry. Also, “Why didn’t God [blank]” assumes the existence of God with attributes… Nah, it assumes that there’s a being God who claims to be Blank, which is bizarre because He doesn’t demonstrate Blank.