To ATB: About “How To Judge a Deity” Pt. 1

Well, I’ve done it again.  I was wandering around the old stomping grounds, checking out the old favorites list, and was drawn into a discussion about ethics and God.

A Thinking Bum, or ATB as he has always been known in this space, has suggested that the idea of a God who is supremely moral simply because he says he is (this might be loosely called a "divine command" ethical system) is a notion of morality that is repugnant to him.  I made several comments on a number of tangential issues which filled a huge area at the bottom of one of his entries, and there would appear to be additional discussion required which would best happen outside of notes.  My attempts to capsulize my view of ethics as a Christian theist were largely misunderstood in that space and it’s my hope that writing them here in this space where I can lay them out in more detail will prove helpful in this regard.

Before I begin, a couple of brief points which I wish to make.

First, I would like to note that I’m making a good faith effort here to explain divine command ethics as a Christian theist, knowing full well that if I succeed, it is likely that ATB and the others who’ve commented there (AUUB, An Atheist, Tak and others) will still find the explained ethic I will suggest here abominable and repugnant.   As the discussion continues on ATB’s diary (and in all likelihood in the area that follows this entry) I would like to call on those who would disagree to at least make an attempt of a formulation like the one I’ve done here which would provide a system better than the one which I’m about to suggest, if it is indeed repugnant.  Let me be absolutely frank for a moment:  I’ve met a good many atheists who were content to take their potshots at theism (and especially Christian theism) without ever themselves suggesting a system, quite apart from Christian theism, which is better.  It is one thing to mercilessly critique a standing system.  It is something quite different to say something of substance yourself. 

So, to be certain that my challenge in this regard isn’t missed, it will come before my own take on morality.  Here are the requests I would make of an atheist ethic.

1. I would like to know where this ethic is grounded philosophically that it might fairly be called "objective" and fairly drawn from sources which do not posit the existence of (a) deity(ies). In other words, constructing an alternative ethic ought to come from a tradition which does not posit divinity so that it may be fairly called "atheistic" or "secular."  It won’t do to just steal the parts from theistic systems which are acceptable if the system is still to be called atheistic.  The theistic systems and their morality are part and parcel–interconnected by a system of beliefs about the nature of the world which grounds their moral sense.  To steal the moral conclusions of a theistic morality, deny the presuppositions which make them possible logically and then claim they are your own is no great accomplishment, and in fact violates the entire point of making an atheistic argument.

2. If this ethic is to suggest some kind of "transgression" or things that are ethical violations (or, to put it alternately, "people ought not _______") I would like to hear where this definition of transgression would come from (historically and otherwise), and how it might be suggested that such a definition could be reached objectively without invoking personal preference or a deity. (so that it may be fairly called atheistic and objective). 

3. If a word involving comparison to a standard is invoked ("it is BETTER to do X than Y," or "this is the HIGHEST moral imperative."), I would like to know how the word is being used and where the standard being invoked comes from, again so that it is clearly distinct from personal preference.  In other words, on what basis are people to make judgments based on what is preferable or better or excellent or moral?  Where does the standard find it’s root?

Second, in an effort to be true to my own principles, I will suggest that there are many types of ethical systems.  There are a variety of words often used in these types of debates.  As a short list of terms which might prove helpful to some, which are better explained by textbooks and experts, I submit the following:  ethical egoism, deontology, utilitarianism, emotivism, relativism, logical positivism, and virtue ethics.  In addition many philosophers and writers have made significant contributions to our understanding of ethics.  A list of names might include:  Plato, Aristotle, Augustine of Hippo, Thomas Aquinas, Jeremy Bentham, John Stuart Mill, William Graham Sumner, John Ladd, Joseph Fletcher, Immanuel Kant, Thomas Hobbes, David Hume, and others.

This entry has gotten long.  I’ll continue on the next one, to be sure that it saves correctly.  (Many of my earlier entries in this regard on this site were lost in cyberspace when I typed too long.)

Log in to write a note
September 9, 2008

“It is one thing to mercilessly critique a standing system. It is something quite different to say something of substance yourself.” You are right about that (although I would submit that mercilessly critiquing a system IS saying something of substance). However, the truth, viability, or reasonableness of your system of ethics does not rise or fall on our ability to come up with something to replace it. In other words, my hypothetical failure to meet your challenge will not convince me to accept your divine command theory. Likewise, I doubt that my hypothetical success at meeting your challenge would convince you to abandon your divine command theory in favor of my own. So while the challenge is valid and important, I feel like at this point it is just a distraction from the current debate.

September 9, 2008

Heh heh. No, I was referring to my habit of getting into debates on OD. I stayed away for a good long time for this reason. I had other things to do, and I needed to check my ego at the door and be sure I could do this for reasons other than stroking my own intellect. Whether I can say honestly I can do that at this point I’m not aware enough to say. I’ll have to do the best I can.

September 9, 2008

It’s really not a distraction to request that those who want to demolish one ethic actually have something of substance to say in its place. It won’t do to have one system done away with, however incorrect, if it is to be replaced with nothing. I have no problem talking about the weaknesses in divine command ethics.

September 9, 2008

But if the critique is to be taken seriously, those making the critique should also have something to say about possible replacement systems, and why their replacement is an advancement over the system they have critiqued. In other words, I’m not in favor of kibbutzing. If you have an option you feel is legitimately better, you do me a disservice not to bring it to my attention.

September 9, 2008

“But if the critique is to be taken seriously, those making the critique should also have something to say about possible replacement systems, and why their replacement is an advancement over the system they have critiqued.” This is where I am not in agreement. The critique must be taken seriously regardless of whether or not I have a system of ethics to use in its place. But, you are right inthe sense that I would do you a disservice not to bring it to your attention. For what it’s worth, I found Michael Shermer’s book The Science of Good & Evil to be closest to me own thinking on this matter. I have a really short summary (more like notes taken from his lecture) here: http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=A219369&entry=10384

September 9, 2008

You can find a more substantial selection of quotations from the book, spread over four entries, beginning here: http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=A219369&entry=10371

September 10, 2008

RYN: I agree concerning the situation with ID. Their critiques of evolutionary theory must be evaluated independently of whether or not they have an alternative theory in place. However, the critique that ID theorists have not constructed a positive theory of design remains valid. You cannot call it a “theory of intelligent design” without any theory. ID has no theory of its own, just critiques of evolution that have been answered. If their critiques were valid, then evolution (or at least Darwinian evolution) would have to be abandoned. But it would mean going back to the drawing board, because ID is not a substitute.

September 15, 2008

RYN: “If you’re looking for a naturalistic way to prove a metaphysical reality (which the naturalistic view discounts the existence of anything metaphysical as a matter of course) of course there are going to be difficulties.” – StealthPudge18 No. I’m granting you that 2 supernatural beings exist. God and Satan. And you can communicate with both of them. How much more generous could an atheist be? How did you decide which to call your master and which to call your enemy? My claim is, you have NO basis for morality even given that these 2 supernatural beings exist; even with lines of communication with them. So again, how did you decide which to call your master and which to call your enemy? Flip a coin?

October 12, 2008

RYN: “Naturalism is where we differ.” This is simply astounding to read… I’ve said, “I’m granting you that 2 supernatural beings exist. God and Satan. And you can communicate with both of them.” How could you think that “naturalism is where we differ” if I’m granting you that 2 supernatural beings exist and you can communicate with them???

June 1, 2009

RYN: Thanks for stopping by. I really hope they don’t play the “mental issues” card with this guy. he murdered another human being and should be punished for it. End of story.