The Ghosts of New England

"And you can go down by the water to see her footprints in the sand–every night she walks the beaches of Cheyenne."  -Garth Brooks from the song,  The Beaches of Cheyenne.

"What we do in life echoes in eternity." -Maximus Decimus Buridius, in Gladiator.

I got back 10 days ago from a trip to New England.  Because my denomination started on the East Coast in Rhode Island, we have lots of old churches there, and the history of those buildings is something I wanted to take in.  Luckily enough for me, my board of directors agreed, and decided to send me out there to visit the churches.  The trip was excellent.  I learned a lot of thing and understand the history I’d read in books much better now.  That is one of the unique proclivities about history–it always happens in a time and in a place.  There are lots of disciplines and areas of study that can be done in a room with nothing around.  History is often purported to be one of those types of sciences.  But it’s not.  History is lived out by people in a place at a given time.  They were people with homes and families and beliefs and opinions.  Never trust a historian who reads history without first giving a picture of who the people who took part in it were.

That said, my trip was spectacular.  I got to visit the first SDB meeting house in North America (and all the New World) in Rhode Island, and then trace the steps of the brave men and women who moved their families out into the frontier…first to western Rhode Island, and then onward to Connecticut and New York state.  Given the time of year when I visited (autumn), I was afraid the weather might be tempermental, but I was blessed with spectacular weather.

But that’s not what this entry is about.  I have a theory…something I’ve been working on for a long time.  It’s vaguely mystical, and that’s the only reason I doubt it, but I feel that there is something to it, and so I’d like to run it by you folks for your opinion.

I don’t know if any of you have ever been into a pawn shop, but it has always seemed to me that there is something just not right about them.  I couldn’t figure out what.  I got the same feeling when I walked into the house of an older person who had recently passed away.  I got a heavy dose of it when I took this new job as Historian and on my first day received books from a recently deceased Pastor.  The things those people had owned….had something strange about them.

When I went to New England, I had 400 years of history slap me full across the face.  The houses and the buildings and the businesses occupy places that other people have occupied, and they drive on roads other people have driven on.  It will sound funny when I say this, but it’s almost like the history of the place still hangs in the air there–as though any minute, a ghost from hundreds of years ago will walk up to you, wave, and then vanish instantly.  I’m not suggesting that there are real mystical beings that haunt New England, understand me well.  But there is something about it….

Maybe it’s my own knowledge that other people have been there that are now gone, and my knowledge that they are gone (and have been that way for a long time) that makes me delude myself into thinking something else is going on.  But I don’t think so.  Let me give you my theory.

I think that places and buildings and things like possessions (journals and diaries and letters) come with a sort of soulprint on them that marks them as having come from someone else–a sort of signal to everyone who comes across them later that they once belonged to someone else.  I know that probably sounds strangely like a ghost story, and I admit there are some similarities, but it is the only way I can describe what I positively feel about things like old journals and letters.  Everything that is old is marked with everyone who has ever possessed it.  The print is deeper depending on how long the person had it and how cherished it was to them.  (Take for example a book…some books just feel different than others…there is a history on them or something besides the stories they tell in the words printed on them.)

Before you spurn my theory, consider how it might play out.  It explains how some people love antiques and some people can’t stand them.  (Perhaps some people are more comfortable with the idea of death than others, for example.)  It would explain the polarized reviews of museums and the study of archeaology.  It would explain a lot of things. 

What do you all think?  Am I crazy?  Is there possibly something to this?  Thoughts and opinions are welcome.

Log in to write a note
October 17, 2005

I think you make a valid point, because I have also experienced that feeling in historic places – it’s always been the strongest in those places that bring the dead back to life, in a way – old cemeteries, for example, or a recent trip to a museum where I couldn’t tear myself away from a mummy in a glass case. Even in older homes I’ve felt the tiniest little bit of guilt for (c)

October 17, 2005

(c) trespassing on the past.

October 17, 2005

Of course you’re crazy :). I think it would be the same way if you were to go to where Jesus and the deciples walked and walked where they did. It would almost seem surreal. I’m sure it’d be pretty mind-boggling.

Hi, i thought I’d drop by and say Happy Sabbath! I actually go to a Seventh Day Adventist church.I came to this one after being protestant, since birth.I had prayed and prayed that God would tell me the truth and show me which church i should attend.Then not long after I was given three books that expained how the Roman Catholic church claimed the righ to change the day of worship.

I became convinced the seventh day was the day God created for us to worship him on so I changed churches.I feel the seventh day brings great blessings with it which I missed before ny keeping sunday.If you ever get a chance to read a copy of “The Great Controvercy” by Ellen white, take it! She tells the whole story in full detail. I also read this entry.I used to get this feeling about dead

people’s things.But after studying the state of the dead in the bible I found that since they are ‘sleeping’In a kind of suspended atate of animation until Jesus comes to ressurrect them, I don’t feel that way anymore.I think that feeling is related to a sort of fear of touching something that belonged to someone else.But id we could ask those who possessed those things if we could touch them I

smile and say that it’s okay.But since they are asleep in death, we can’t so we can just do as God leads us in the end, without any fear.Just trust him and obey.

Hi again. i just thought you might like to look these scriptures up.Job 14:12 and 19:25-27, Acts 2:29-34, 1 thessalians 4:13-18. You may also like to read an entry in my diary called “A peek into heaven.” I feel as though Holy Spirit has lead me to write the truth about this subject.I beleive he is now teaching you the truth too.You should pray about it.Love,

October 21, 2005

I think what you feel about a place has to do with how attuned you are to both your intuition and your imagination…I think the energy of our souls is a powerful force, and probably does leave a mark. New England is a very special place–such an interesting history and some of the oldest buildings still existing in the US. It’s fascinating.

Hello again! Stealth pudge18 I have just completed some entries in my diary on America in Prophecy. I feel lead by God to tell you about them, epecially the two last ones, 5 and 6. Please read them thouroughly and pray about the contents of these entries.It is important that you know about this okay? Blessings to you,

Well too bad you don’t believe in purgatory or you’d have a good reason for souls to be hanging around after death. I kinda went off on BlueBird b/c it’s a little frustrating when people call your Church, that you believe to be founded by Christ Himself, basically Satan. I know we celebrate on Sunday b/c of the Resurrection but I’m only in my 2nd year of seminary out of 8. God bless! Paul

Hi I justthought I’d return your note. I wasn’t actually trying to predict the coming of the Lord, but was just doing a study on Revelation.These were the the things I felt the Holy spirit led me to understand.So I will just keep a watch out from now on and see what will happen.This is really any of us can do.Just watch and wait. I know Jesus said prophecy will pass away, and it is more important

to love God and our neighbours as our selves. So Iw ill endever to do this from now on.Because of this fact I have deleted most notes so no argumants will arise on that subject.Best wishes,

October 28, 2005

RYNs: Thanks for your insightful notes. You raise some good issues that hopefully I can get around to addressing. There really is not much there that I disagree with, but some clarification on my part might be helpful.