Life Goes On.

I see a few people have been checking this space out recently, wondering how life is going.

Well, I suppose I can try to let you all know.  My one year anniversary was July 22nd, and my wife and I celebrated in style, making an attempt to buy our first home.  Our offer was ultimately rejected, but that’s where things are now.  I continue to work as a religious historian, clearly one of the most melancholy jobs in the history of melancholy jobs.  I do have a blog at blogspot (historyrepeatingitself.blogspot.com) which I write at occasionally, as I try to make sense of my work and my life.

I continue to study at Seminary to get my M.Div.  Being a Seminary student has been a big challenge, and a bigger one now that I’m working full time and am trying to be a decent husband.  As you probably suspect at this point, that’s why the volume of my writing has gone way down.  It’s not because I don’t care or it wasn’t stimulating or whatever, but mostly because I just don’t have the time anymore.

Being married is an interesting trip.  I’ve had areas of my life where I was selfish pointed out to me by my own words a few times in this last year.  That’s an interesting experience.  To be hammered in the face with your own callousness/egotism is a humbling thing.  It’s been good for me.  The desire I used to have to be right all the time has sort of faded too.  Marriage has calmed me a great deal.  It’s forced me to reorganize my priorities, and I think that’s a good thing.

I just don’t care enough to argue anymore.  There are more important things to do.  I assume most people are doing the best they can, and very few will change anything they think based on something I could say to them.  I spent lots of time here arguing here with the atheists, and at the end, neither of us got very far.  We used different definitions and different ideas to attempt to prove vastly different worldviews.  I don’t begrudge those who do not believe in a god or gods their right to do so.  I still think they’re making a mistake, but they’ve got a right.  I can even respect their view, if they know what their talking about (over someone who is just hateful in general and enjoys belittling people) and can make the strongest case for their position.  There were several thoughtful atheists I respect a great deal here.  Then there are some mongers who care only for belittling others with ad hoc solutions and ad hominem attacks.  I have no time for such nonsense.

I wish all who read this well.  I don’t know when I’ll be back again, but I’ll try to make the rounds.

Log in to write a note
August 17, 2007

Glad to hear that married life is agreeing with you. Sounds like your head is on perfectly. Best wishes.

August 17, 2007

Things have changed a lot for you. Congratulations on everything, hope all continues to go well. later,

August 19, 2007

Wow. It’s hard to believe you’ve been married for over a year. Congratulations 🙂 It sounds wonderful. I’m glad things are good for you.

July 2, 2008

Been a while since I check here. Thought I’d send a shout out.