Irony Alert: True Love is Click Away!

I’m stunned.

I just saw a banner on the right side of my screen that contained the following advertisement from True, some online dating service:

"True love is just a click away!"

The only problem with this advertisement was that the photograph wasn’t of an older couple walking hand in hand or some other highly appropriate image of real, devoted, adult, love.  Instead, it was a picture of buxom blonde wearing only a coat and skirt so short that it would classify as a head dressing in some cultures.

I’m not faulting OD for using an ad service.

But what kind of culture can mistake the image of someone who could just as easily be a prostitute as a real, sensitive, caring human woman for love?  The advertisement might has well have said, "Find gratuitious sex which might masquerade as true love for up to a couple of years!"

*gag*

With any luck, the advertisement in question will show up on your screen as you read this, so there is no mistake what I’m talking about. 

No, on second thought, I hope you’re not exposed to it.  I think I just puked in my mouth….

*wince*

I’m still not wearing any pants, film at eleven.

Log in to write a note
January 31, 2006
February 1, 2006

I’ve been saying the same thing (mostly to myself) for months now.

February 2, 2006

LOL! You owe me a cookie!

February 3, 2006

I know EXACTLY what ad you’re referring to–and I’m free of it! Free! FREE! ryn: I’ll admit that I viewed the blue comedy dvd on one occasion, laughed quite a lot, then promised myself I wouldn’t do it again (a promise I’ve kept). I definitely have guilty-pleasure tv viewing, especially comedy central cartoons