Even More Reasons I believe in God (Existentially)

ALTERNATIVE TITLE: The Undeniable Truths of Humanity

ALTERNATIVE TITLE: Existential Reasons for the Existence of God

Very well, then.

As I’ve intimated before, in the series of entries stating my reasons why I believe in God rationally, and my subsequent explanation of those reasons, I believe that there are good, rational, compelling reasons to believe in the existence of God.  For the discussion of those reasons, please consult those entries.  I am now transitioning to other reasons I believe in the existence of God.  These reasons are based on my own personal experiences and the basic parts of human nature that I believe are common to us all. I confess also that my previous entry, a rather caricatured view of atheists, was a purposeful transition to this set of entries.  I don’t believe that atheists can answer the reasons I’m about to present nearly as well as various stripes of theists.  (Notice again I’ve not committed to a particular type of theism at this point, I’m only arguing for the existence of some sort of metaphysical being or beings.)

11.) The Existence of Good and Evil.
Atheists have no basis to suggest that evil exists as anything other than a descriptor of human behavior created by humans to describe behavior that displeases or inconveniences society.  The question of ultimate right and wrongness that the word "evil" implies is based on the principle that there is a good.  (There is no evil without good to compare it against, just as there is no such thing as cold without heat compare it against.)  As such, the word evil implies a absolute state of affairs, which the true atheist cannot hold a truly objective position on.  Unless there is an unassailable, unquestioning good to which things are compared to determine whether they are evil, the two words are only subjective states of affairs, not unlike the preference statements people make about food (e.g. "I like broccoli.").  I’m always amused when atheists claim that there is evil in the world, or that God is evil.  Without God, the terms are simply meaningless and "If there is a God it is evil" becomes "I don’t like God."  Of course, both tacitly acknowledge the existence of God, because of the usage of the value term.  This may sound close to one of my rational arguments for the existence of God, and there are similiarities, but in this case, we’re not arguing from reason, we’re arguing from existence.  Evil does exist in the world, and there are things that are objectively wrong for all people.  C.S. Lewis, in his opening to Mere Christianity, makes exactly this case–that there are some universal concepts that people acknowledge without training or conditioning.   (In Lewis’s case, the example was children who intuitively know that cutting in line is wrong.)  Atheists, in order to be consistent, must argue for evil as a construct if they will truly hold their belief that God/s do not exist.  If real, objective good and evil exist, God/s must exist.

12.) The Problem of Evil.
Perhaps somewhat ironically, one of the proofs often used by atheists to refute the existence of God is also one of the strongest reasons to believe that one or more God/s exist.  Atheists often argue something to the effect that, "if there was a god/s who is good, and evil exists, then there is a contradiction."  What these atheists don’t acknowledge when they make that case is their own explanation of evil in lieu of God.  As I noted above, if the atheist holds with their position, then evil is just a statement of preference.  If that is true, for the atheist, there is no problem of evil. There are simply things we don’t like, or are not good for us or society.  There is no problem.  Their formulation of evil is simply that bad things happen, but they are bad only because they aren’t good for us.  There is no overarching bad, there is no everarching, objective evil…there is simply things we don’t like because of our ingrained, instinctive herd sense.  The sense of injustice people feel when evil is done to them is explained away as a mere "emotion" that is only in place to respond to a social violation.  There is no appeal to a higher, objective wrong.

(NOTE:  Atheists have this same problem with abstract concepts like truth and justice.  It is in this way that we arrive to the supposedly logical view espoused by Richard Rorty and other modern philosophers: "Truth is what my colleagues will let me get away with."  When you cut yourself free from the bindings of objectivity, all abstract concepts lose their collective grounding and become subjective.  Meaning goes out the window.)

I believe that evil does exist, and that there are some things that are truly evil.  My abhoration of people who kill the innocent for pleasure, or pedophilia, or incest, or rape is NOT simply a response to a herd instinct which has morphed into culture.  It is a REAL statement and response to a real, objectively wrong thing that is wrong in all possible worlds.  It is always wrong to kill the innocent for pleasure.  It is always wrong to sexually abuse children.  I cannot reconcile to the idea that it is simply my feelings that are offended by these horrific crimes.  There is something objectively wrong about these activities, and my demand for justice in response to them is my humanity’s way of acknowledging the existence of real good and evil.

While the theistic answers for the problem of evil often don’t completely satisfy, there are much better than simply voiding the problem by saying that evil doesn’t exist.  I know evil exists, because I have experienced it, and I have seen it at work in the world and manifest it in this world.  It is not a statement of preference, it is a statement of a metaphysical reality to be repulsed by evil.  (Now, of the theistic answers to the problem of evil, I think the Christian answer is best, but that is still to come.)

13.) The Existence of Emotion.
Likewise, while naturalistic atheists will claim that sentience (a being become cognizant of itself), sprung quite logically from the equation Time+Matter+Chance, there is still a major problem for them.  Even if it is granted that it possible to gain sentience and reason from T+M+C, there is still the question of emotion.  My secular humanist undergraduate philosophy professor considered himself an expert on human emotions.  His solution was that emotions don’t really exist.  They are simply a manner of speaking for something which we "think/feel."  He suggested that people don’t really have any emotions, but that they are simply chemicals in our brain that make us think differently than we might if we didn’t have those chemicals.  In other words, we don’t feel anything at all, we are merely animals responding to the chemicals our bodies produce.  If that is true, we are again, nothing more than animals, and everything in the human experience that we feel: love, joy, pain, happiness, sadness, mourning, aren’t really anything other than an a

greeable (or disagreeable) chemical in our system, that we’re getting through. 

That’s not to mention the implicit problem in asking why we have emotions at all.  If evolution obtains, the only reason we would gain a function and maintain it is if it provides an advantage to us as a species.  If emotion was just a by-product of something useful, emotion would have started to change by now, but the human experience dictates that emotions have been much the same for thousands of years.  If emotion was useful in itself, we would expect it to present a noticible benefit to the creatures.  "Feeling" doesn’t seem to be an advantage in itself.  I don’t know how evolutionary theory can account for emotions without discounting the felt experience of the people who feel them.  That to me is an unacceptible answer.  I feel things.  While chemicals are likely involved, it doesn’t seem to me that evolution explains where they came from and why I have them.

14. Pascal’s Anthropological Argument.
Not to be confused with Pascal’s wager, the Anthropological Argument, roughly stated is that humans are unique in the physical world.  We are able to reason and feel.  We are able to build and calculate.  No other being in this world does what we can do.  For that reason, we are the kings of this world.  We are the glory and splendor of this world.  But in the same token, no being on earth is as wretched as us, because we know our capability and yet somehow, fail to live up to it.  We are constantly in a state of denial about our own finitude.  All that our ability to reason and feel has brought us is the agony of knowing that nothing lasts.  To quote Pascal directly, "What sort of freak then is man!  How novel, how monstrous, how chaotic, how paradoxical, how prodigous!  Judge of all things, feeble earthworm, repository of truth, sink of doubt and error, glory and refuse of the universe!"  Only human beings display this kind of glory and refuse kind of life.  This kind of existence is distinct from the other animals, and must be explained.  Pascal ends up with the idea that the existence of God (and his theory explicitly acknowledges the Christian God), and Jesus Christ explains the real condition of man better than all competing theories.  I happen to agree with him.

More coming soon.

Log in to write a note
YAH
September 14, 2005

Everything is relative, there is no absolute. It is supposedly bad to kill according to the Ten Commandments, unless you kill a helpless Afghan civilian during the war on terror, that is just an example. God is just a great concept (thought up by geniuses) to make people feel good and, alas, to control their minds.

September 15, 2005

For the first one, I agree that there’s no such thing as evil. However, there is such a thing as anti-social, which humans have often called evil. An anti-social person acts without regard for other humans; he doesn’t have empathy. Other humans, with their empathy, know that that isn’t a right behavior because it is unjust and because, on a deeper level, it endangers the survival of the species,

September 15, 2005

I disagree with everything you’ve said there, I think. First, the prohibition from killing is restated in the New Testament as a respect for life. In addition, even in the 10, the implication in the command to not kill is not that there should be no killing ever, but merely that murder was wrong. Thus, the wider New Testament prohibition from murderous thought.

September 15, 2005

which is the only good. Empathy is something inborn in humans (unless it is surpressed through training) because humans are social creatures– pack animals as it were. Humans would not be able to function in a pack society if they didn’t have some sort of empathy.

September 15, 2005

lol..I’m responding to YAH now. Second, you’ve committed a category mistake, confusing American patriotism justified by politicized Christianity with real honest-to-goodness, biblical Christianity. I think killing Afghan non-combatants is wrong, and that anyone who does so, like all other sinners (read: everyone) will be accountable for what they’ve done at some point.

September 15, 2005

And if one person is anti-social and acts without any kind of empathy, then the others know that that behavior is wrong and is a danger, and act to censure the anti-social person.

September 15, 2005

Third, for YAH: I don’t think God is a constructed concept. If it were, we would have no way to describe it, no language to capture it, and no cognizance of what it meant. If the concept God exists, and it’s meaningful, then I think there has to be a God of some stripe to ground the concept. Fourth: I don’t think religion always makes people feel good. I speak from personal experience.

September 15, 2005

Fifth, for YAH, I don’t think religion is mindcontrol anymore than politics is mind control or science is mind control or culture is mind control. Weak minded people are everywhere. Where there are weak minded people, there will be mind control, manipulation, etc. That does not mean that religion, politics, culture or science are inherently controlling.

September 15, 2005

In addition, I think it is important to remember that often times religion awakens people’s conscience in a way that the other three things do not, and so may be a combatant against mind control, for a different purpose in an explicitly different fashion. In my own life, I’m a lot more free-thinking because of my faith. Indoctrination is not implicit in the church anymore than in science.

September 15, 2005

Now, for Jane: I would like very much to read the study on herd sociology and psychology and it’s development and impact on empathy. Please let me know where I can find it. I am saying that evil exists, objectively. I have not said that evil doesn’t exist. I am saying quite strenuously that is does. That is the entire nature of the argument. Atheism does not allow for real evil to exist.

September 15, 2005

You said that there’s no such thing as evil without there being a g0d. I agree. I don’t believe in either. Which is not the same as saying that there’s nothing wrong or bad and saying that I think something is wrong is equivalent to saying that I don’t like it.

September 15, 2005

As for a hard-science-scientific study on empathy, I’m sure that they’re out there. However, I am not one who generally reads hard-science-scientific studies of anything, nor do I ask for hard-science-scientific studies of every assertion that you make. (For example, you have asserted like many Christians before you, that if there were no cold, there would be no such thing as hot.

September 15, 2005

You also assert, above “Weak minded people are everywhere. Where there are weak minded people, there will be mind control, manipulation, etc. That does not mean that religion, politics, culture or science are inherently controlling” and I am not asking for scientific evidence of this either. I don’t find either rationale persuasive, but I’m not demanding that you cite an authority

September 15, 2005

in order to persuade me.)

September 15, 2005

As for the question of where I got my assertion that people are more or less naturally empathic, well, I read a few things on the subject in several of my socialogy textbooks some years ago. They were not in the nature of studies, more like references to studies not cited there, and cited studies building on the previous ones.

September 15, 2005

I have seen similar references in reading popular science books such as the ones by Dr. Sachs and Stephen Pinker. Also in popular science TV shows such as Nova and the like. I have gathered that the idea that human empathy is inborn if not taught at an extremely young age in all but the most screwed up human environments is a generally accepted idea. Not only that, it makes sense.

September 15, 2005

From an evolutionary standpoint, herd animals who did not develop empathy would tend to have a large number of scisms and lots of infighting, leaving them less able to defend themselves. (Not that humans are perfect in this regard, but with no empathy at all, imagine how much worse it would be….)

September 15, 2005

Empathy seems to me to be an emotion based on reasoning. You feel things and you like things and you see other being resembling yourself and see that they also feel and like things. You figure that if you help them get what they like, they’ll help you get what you like, and if you help them avoid what they don’t like, they’ll help you avoid what you don’t like.

September 15, 2005

So given a choice between hindering them and helping them (if it’s otherwise nothing to you), then the good thing is to help them. The evil thing is to hinder them. The further you go out of your way to hinder them and the worse harm you do to them, the more humans are likely to describe it as evil. The further you go out of your way to help someone and the greater the help you provide,

September 15, 2005

the more likely it is that someone is going to say that you are good or saintly.

September 15, 2005

The problem that this comes to in human interactions is defining help and harm as well as defining who to help when two people’s needs come into conflict. For example, consider abortion. Some people feel empathy for the woman having an abortion. They relate to how they’d feel if they suddenly found out that they were pregnant and didn’t want to be. They relate it to people they know who have kids

September 15, 2005

who really never should’ve had kids and who never wanted kids. They feel empathy for her, and are willing to help her rid herself of her pregnancy. Other people hear of a woman having an abortion and they feel empathy for the fetus. After all, they used to be a fetus, and they wouldn’t’ve wanted to’ve been aborted. They like being alive. So they make laws against abortion.

September 15, 2005

Some people feel more strongly like the woman and other people more strongly like the fetus. Some people say that the fetus is more deserving of help seeing as how it can’t protect itself and is not responsible for how it got to where it is. Some feel like the woman is more deserving because she has already come through so much to get where she is, and the fetus hasn’t demonstrated any particular

September 15, 2005

worth or staying power. But the question of whether the woman’s abortion is “good” or “evil” is all in who you have more empathy for, who you feel like is later going to be in a position to help you, who is more likely to help you, which of the two is more like you, etc. Is it anti-social for a woman to have an abortion?

September 15, 2005

In any case, for there to be such a thing as true good and true evil, there has to be something that is always good– in your belief system, g0d and serving g0d. For my conception of “probably right (good)” and “probably wrong (bad)” I’m fine with there just being things that generally seem more or less good to me most of the time. My living, and beyond that, the living of people like me, seems

September 15, 2005

like something pretty positive to me. Making my life and the lives of other people like me better and more fulfilling seems probably good to me. If it didn’t seem probably good to my ancestors, I wouldn’t be here because they would’ve killed themselves or continued living in caves eating whatever came to hand. It’s not a completely arbitrary thing– it’s the set of beliefs

September 15, 2005

that all living creatures have to have at core or else they wouldn’t be living creatures.

September 15, 2005

It is not, however, as you said above that if I were to say, “g0d is evil” (however unlikely that eventuality is) it would be the same as my saying, “I don’t like g0d.” For me, I understand that to be a shorthand way of saying, “The non-sensical idea of g0d is detremental to the survival and betterment of humans.”

September 15, 2005

First, Jane, the difference between me saying that there are weak minded people and your statement about empathy and herd instinct is that I am making no appeal to anything else in my statement. It is either true or it is not. To me, it seems to be fairly self evident that it is. If it is not, I’m happy submitting to everyone’s opinion. Evolution is nothing like that…it is a scientific theory

September 15, 2005

…it is trumpeted as one of the great modern accomplishments of science. As such, whenever a claim like yours is made, I really want to see the science. I’d really like to read the studies. Everyone saying they exist is not the same as everyone actually reading them. I talk about philosophy because I’ve read philosophy. I’m no scientist, but I will read.

September 15, 2005

There are lots of people who argue from science against God who have no conception of the science and have read no science to support their view–everything comes fifth or sixth or tenth hand from someone who has. (I’m not suggesting you’re such a person, please understand.) My only point here is that people who claim to base their life on this kind of thing should really read it.

September 15, 2005

Now, as to the other question. If there is no objective base for ethical or moral judgements (an ultimate, objectively true ‘good’), there can be no real right and wrong, only personal preference. If that is the case, then statements against God really do mean, “I don’t like the concept of God.” or “the belief in God is not convenient for myself or society (or both).”

September 15, 2005

Without an objective standard of ANY kind (good or evil) to compare against, all statements of value (good, evil, better, best, etc) are really just statements of personal preference. They are not even statements about culture, unless a person is so inclined to claim they know the personal opinion of the majority of humanity.

September 15, 2005

I was not under the impression that I was making an appeal to hard science when I said that people are born with empathy. That has been my experience of infants and small children. That was my experience of growing up. As for the stuff about humans as herd animals, then that would relate to evolution, about which I have read a fair amount.

September 15, 2005

It also strikes me as self-evident to say that in any human society, things would work very badly without empathy (at least without empathy towards the in-group). I did not say at any point, “Science has conclusively proven that humans are born with empathy” in which case you might well expect me to be prepared with specific studies.

September 15, 2005

In any case, I’ll finish later because I have to go home now.

September 15, 2005

“Moral principles, derived from the moral sense, are not absolute, where they apply to all people in all cultures under all circumstances all of the time. Neither are moral principles relative, entirely determined by circumstance, culture, and history. Moral principles are provisionally true – that is, they apply to most people in most cultures in most circumstances most of the time.” (pgs. 20-21)

September 15, 2005

That’s a snippet from Michael Shermer’s book The Science of Good and Evil. People had a tendancy to think in terms of black and white, especially with regards to morality. There is no pure evil or pure good in the conceptual sense – just human actions that fall along a sliding scale of desirability. Something to think about.

September 16, 2005

“Provisionally true” or “a sliding scale of desirability” is still a statement roughly akin to “I like broccoli.” If it is not objectively true, the only reference for morality is society or individuals or some combination, in which case it is, on the most basic level a statement of preference. That preference is either for the individual “better for me” or for society “better for us.”

September 16, 2005

And then the question is what is meant by the word “better”. If better means “able to perpetuate the species better,” then we are simply looking at a tautology good=better=able to perpetuate the species. If better means anything other than that, there has to be some objective standard to compare against.

September 16, 2005

“Provisional ethics provides a reasonable middle ground between absolute and relative moral systems. Provisional moral principles re applicable for most people in most circumstances most of the time, yet flexible enough to account for the wide diversity of human behavior, culture, and circumstances….And they are objective, in the sense that morality is independent of the individual. (cont)

September 16, 2005

“Moral sentiments evolved as part of our species; moral principles, therefore, can be seen as transcendent of the individual, making them morally objective. Whenever possible, moral questions should be subjected to scientific and rational scrutiny, much as nature’s questions are subjected to scientific and rational scrutiny.” (pg. 168) There’s another quotation that I think answers your concern.

September 16, 2005

sometimes i talk in my sleep. about socks. among other topics. (just thought i’d insert a bit of silliness into the mix)

September 17, 2005

Unfortunately, I think that those who think that there is no evil/bad are living more on the lines of what ‘feels good.’ One, out of many, distinctions in Christianity is that it is not a man-made religion and it’s about a relationship, not about trying to keep as many ‘laws’ as one can.

September 19, 2005

To An Atheist: Your quotes only prove my point. My definition of objective is bigger than humanity. If humans create it, is is always subject to change, and therefore is subjective. Dressing the subjectivity up with the word “provisional” doesn’t change it a bit. Inside your quote, it even notes this, defining as objective as bigger than the individual.

September 19, 2005

By that logic, two people creating a morality that claims it is right to kill the innocent for pleasure would be as objectively true. That’s a mockery of the terminology, in my opinion. I don’t grant that moral principles are evolved. And I would still like to read the scientific studies that demonstrate the supposed link between them. Where can I find these studies?

This entire series of entries and posts has gotten way too serious for me to add anything remotely resembling a coherent thought. Thus, I will let the brains of the operation continue to pound away on such keyboards. I only wish I could find some likeness to light comedy within the next dozen entries…as I had gotten used to so long ago. Alas.

September 21, 2005

“If humans create it, is is always subject to change, and therefore is subjective.” Yet you seem to think that this means that it is subject to literally ‘any’ change no matter how absurd. Not so. Moral provisions are subject to rational scrutiny, just as scientific truths are, and are derived from an evolved pre-moral sense. It’s the latter that transcends any one individual.

September 21, 2005

“By that logic, two people creating a morality that claims it is right to kill the innocent for pleasure would be as objectively true.” No, not at all. It is not ‘objectively true’ because such a provision would not withstand simple rational argumentation. “I don’t grant that moral principles are evolved.” Fair enough. I’ll give you the link to some old entries that contain more relevant quotes.

September 21, 2005

Start here: http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=A219369&entry=10371&mode= It’s the first of four entries summarizing Shermer’s book through a selection of quotations. Following that are 2 entries answering notes. http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=A219369&entry=10384&mode= This is a 1 entry summary of Shermer’s book in my own words.

September 22, 2005

Nowhere in my response did I claim that human synthesized truth would be subject to any whim. That’s not what I’m saying at all. My point is, even if it is completely rational, as long as humans create a morality for humanity, no matter how rational, it is still subjective…roughly akin to “It is better to do x than y,” as opposed to X is objectly true and right, and Y is objectively evil.

September 22, 2005

“My point is, even if it is completely rational, as long as humans create a morality for humanity..” But I haven’t argued that morality is a complete human creation. Part of the argument I put forward in these notes (and display more indepth in the entries above) is an evolved pre-moral sense, something that belongs to the species and not to any one individual.