Don’t Rock the Jukebox

Alright, folks.  In honoring a promise I made to a brother and fellow diarist, I’m going to hit you with a quick list of my favorite country songs, in no particular order.  First, a brief freakout, of the quality you’ve come to expect from me.  I don’t want to be a broken record on this issue (see this entry for my whole deal on this), but let me tell all you readers something true right now, before I give my list:

No one is saying that you have to like country music.  You don’t have to enjoy it, you don’t have to listen to it, you don’t have to acknowledge it exists.  That is your prerogative.  But don’t come around here talking all this ignorant bullcrap about how it sucks or whatever.  You don’t have to like it.  But I happen to.  If you don’t like it, that’s just too bad.

*ahem*

Alright.  Now that the unpleasantness is out of the way, I’m going to break this down into some divisions for ya’ll, with a few songs in each division.

The Old School Division

1.  Kawliga, by Hank Williams, Sr.

2.  Foggy Mountain Breakdown, Scruggs and Flatt

3.  Devil Went Down to Georgia, Charlie Daniels Band

4.  Fishin in the Dark, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band

5.  The Three Bells, The Browns

6.  The Gambler, Kenny Rogers

7.  City of New Orleans, Willie Nelson

8.  Highwayman, Waylon Jennings w/ Willie Nelson

The Songs I’m Ashamed to Admit I Like Division

1.  Don’t Fall In Love with a Dreamer, Kenny Rogers and Kim Carnes

2.  Loves Been A Little Bit Hard On Me, Juice Newton

3.  Angel of the Morning, Juice Newton

4.  Cry, Faith Hill

5.  Tennessee Flat Top Box, Roseanne Cash

6.  What Do You Say?, Reba McEntyre

7.  What This Woman Needs, SheDaisy

8.  Mine All Mine, SheDaisy

9.  Saints and Angels, Sara Evans

10.  It Was, Chely Wright

11.  Hopelessly, Recklessly, Carelessly, Jessica Andrews

12.  Unbreakable Heart, Jessica Andrews

13.  Outbound Plane, Suzy Bogguss

The Obligatory Garth Brooks List (this list will not include Friends In Low Places or Thunder Rolls, because that’s cliche and tacky.)

1.  Callin’ Baton Rouge

2.  The Dance (cliche, I know, but I’ve got some memory baggage attached to it.)

3.  Beaches of Cheyenne

4.  Why Ain’t I Runnin

5.  When You Come Back To Me Again

6.  What She’s Doing Now

(continued, next entry)

Log in to write a note