A new addition!

For a while now, Jonah has been asking for a puppy.  We use to have a dog named Lucus, who had to eventually be euthinized which still brings my son to tears when he talks about him and how much he misses him.  I would love a kitten, bottle feeding an orphaned one again.  I miss having a cat.  I’ve contemplated a few different types of animals, being adiment that we will only be welcoming ONE animal into our family and wanted it to be the right one.

For many reasons I have leaned against getting a puppy right now, even though my son is well ready to care for him himself.  He very much wants a retriever, not a smaller quieter dog, I’d rather wait until we own a home (which should be in about three years) before we start looking for the right puppy, not while living in an apartment where there’s not place for a dog to run freely off of the leash. 

As much as I would love to have a cat, providing childcare has led me against it.  The number of adults as well as children who are alergic to cats is quite a number.  So, for now, it’s not the right time.

What about a bird???  I use to have cockatiels as a teenager and definitely miss those.  This was a possibility, and I started hunting, figuring the right one will show itself.  It finally did!  Not as a cockatiel though, but rather a Goffin Cockatoo.  His name is Ben, and he’s on a trial run with us for a week or two.  He came home with us last night and has been quite the joy.  My largest concern is quietness, especially during the hours that one isn’t suppose to make a lot of noise.  Today he has been WONDERFUL.  Tonight he has been quite the love 🙂  He is only 4 years old.  It is suspected they live for 40-50 years, so he will have quite a long life with us 🙂

One animal – that is all I want in our house – and we have found him…. I think….. pretty sure!    I’ll have pictures of him shortly 🙂

Log in to write a note