Why did I even bother?

*sigh*

It’s no secret that I’m trying to plan a weekend for me and Jake. I thought I’d ask some of the other mommies from around here for suggestions, since a number of them have lived here much longer than we have.

I specifically mentioned that I’m on a budget here. So what does one suggest? Staying at the Ballantyne Resort. Um….no. A room for ONE NIGHT is THREE HUNDRED DOLLARS. For that price, we wouldn’t be able to do anything else!

I specifically mentioned that I wanted to stay in Charlotte, or at least very near, since we’ve never left Noah before. I even mentioned that we had considered going out to the Biltmore Estate, since that’s something we’ve wanted to do for years now, but when we do that we want to stay at the Inn at Biltmore and one night there is almost two grand, so that’s DEFINITELY out of the question…..anyway, I mentioned that I wasn’t sure I felt comfortable being two hours away. What if my baby needed me?

So what does someone else suggest? First she says "I would get away from baby. Your marriage needs some quality time." Well, no shit, that’s why we’re doing this! But it doesn’t mean that we can’t stay nearby! I’m sorry, I’ve never even left my child with a babysitter other than my mother, I don’t even like leaving him with Jake sometimes if I know I’m gonna be longer than like, half an hour….how in the hell do you expect me to go somewhere hours away for a whole weekend? Anyway, then she gives me a link to….a vacation cottage in CHARLESTON. If I’m not even willing to go two hours away, why in the hell would I go FOUR hours away?

I know they mean well, but really! Pay attention to what I’ve written, people, I didn’t put it there for my health, I did it for a reason!

 

 

free hit counter javascript

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 20, 2007

Wish I had some suggestions…but I live FAR away from you. LOL

August 20, 2007

Try calling the hotels you’re interested in (even if they’re a little pricier) and seeing if Jake can get a discount for being a police officer. I hope y’all find something close to home and that seems enjoyable!

August 20, 2007

Ha, yeah.. some people dont pay attention. Try looking at hotels.com… or priceline.com for a decent hotel- maybe one that has a jacuzzi tub in the room so you can snuggle up in it together. You might find a deal. One time B and I got a room with the huge tub (right next to our bed) for only $80. There were a few restaurants in walking distance (it was near the beach too).. nothing to expensive. We shared meals and really enjoyed ourselves. You could also bring a few snacks from home so you dont spend too much.

hmm are there any bed and breakfest places?? or maybe just a nice hotel… and then you make it romantic with rose petals and tea light candles… plan a picnic… or just something that you and Jake share a common intrest in.