One less thing…*

Finally, one less thing for me to worry about.

The VA representative FINALLY showed up at the Academy yesterday. I guess a lot of people got mad because they had been given the impression that because they’re a veteran, period, they were eligible for this program, but as I found out the other night, that’s not the case, you have to have signed up for the G.I. Bill, as this money is taken out of your G.I. Bill fund. So luckily, Jake was smart and he has a G.I. Bill, so we will for sure be getting some amount of money….the representative gave them the impression that they’d be getting the full amount allowed, which is almost $900 a month, but we’ll see about that one. The kicker, though?

 

He gets this money for eighteen months. That means we get extra money all the way through next July.

We thought he’d only get it while he was actually in training, which would have taken us through October (the Academy ends in July, but then he’s got three months of FTO stuff….). But nope, it lasts all the way through his year long probationary period, too.

This means that not only will the truck get paid off (well, it’d get paid off by February, regardless), but we can also pay off the credit cards. Or most of them, at least. A sizeable chunk of the last one, if not all.

And then, after he becomes sworn in officially as an officer next July, he can start doing extra duty stuff. Getting paid time and a half.

Still waiting for one last item from my shopping spree last week to be delivered. We got the third package last night. It was so cute, Jake started talking to my belly, telling Noah how spoiled he is already and he hasn’t even been born yet!

I need to finish cleaning this spare room today. Or at least most of it….JR will be here tomorrow. No Louisa, no Dale, just JR. I guess Louisa is doing some church thing. Eh. Jake and JR want to go down to the Speed Street stuff they’ve got going on downtown for the Coca Cola 600, and we all want to go see The Da Vinci Code, and the guys have this bright idea that we’re going to go find an "I Need Tickets" person and go to the race….haha.

 

That’s about all for me for now…..but oh, if you happen to notice any older entries of mine popping up as my latest entry, pay them no mind. I’ve been slowly working on doing some diary maintenance, clearing out some old entries and editing some others (mainly entries that have pictures, since I’ve taken all of them off of my website and have transferred them to my Snapfish account, so I have to edit the URLs).

 

Haha, the coolest thing just happened. I was laying on the bed, relaxing for a few minutes, and baby boy was laying there, kicking away…every few seconds I’d feel a little thump…thump…..thump….anyway, so I was laying there, just looking at my stomach, and I actually SAW him kick!! I felt a really strong thump, and right in that spot, my belly bulged out a little…..

Highlight of my day, I tell ya. Especially seeing as how I’ve been home alone all day, since Jake’s got second shift. Meh. At least I’m getting SOMEWHERE with getting this darn spare room organized!!

Make your Noah predictions here!

You can also make guesses at ExpectNet. If the link doesn’t work, the game name is DoodlebugM.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 25, 2006

🙂

May 25, 2006

Hi there. Random noter also from Charlotte. Just wanted to say hello and congrats on the baby. I love the name Noah. Good luck on going to the race. I wanted to take my hubby so bad for his birthday (it’s Sunday) but we’re poor this month! 🙂 Anyway, have a nice Memorial Day weekend!

May 25, 2006

The little caption on the bottom of your counter today disturbs me… “I’m viable outside the womb!” I believe it to be the exclamation point that makes it disturbing.

May 25, 2006

That extra money sounds real nice. 🙂

May 25, 2006

Yay for the money.

May 25, 2006

That money will come in handy, I’m sure. 🙂 I’m glad you guys could get it!

thats soo cute!!!!!

May 25, 2006

That’s so cool! I need to get my rump in gear to organize my spare room.

May 25, 2006

I remember the first time I saw Jacob move through my stomach….it still makes my day….:)

May 25, 2006

It’s so exciting, isn’t it? 🙂

May 25, 2006

How exciting!!!

May 25, 2006

It is so awesome to see and feel them kick. I miss it.

May 25, 2006

Just wait until he starts turning and doing flips! lol It’s the coolest thing seeing them go from side to side and the feeling is crazy!! 🙂 I know how exciting it is to see it for the first time!!

May 26, 2006

Awww… yeah my tummy even ripples now when he kicks… maybe thats just cause I’m fat though! *lol*

May 26, 2006

RYN: Wow. Doesn’t surprise me though. Meat Loaf rivals Keith Richards in the illicit substances department…

May 27, 2006

LOL, sounds like someone can’t wait to be born. YAY for the money!