He Stopped Loving Her Today

Ok, a bit of a dramatic title. Don’t worry, Jake and I are fine! That’s the title of an old George Jones song.

However, we’ve been out in Jacksonville for the past two weeks. Jake’s father passed away on Thursday, May 2. We’ve been out here trying to handle various things. It’s been a bit of a mess, because Daddy has an estranged wife that none of us know how to get ahold of; we don’t even know for sure if she knows he’s gone. Carley’s mom, while I love her dearly, is making a big fuss out of what Carley’s going to get. At any rate, Jake and I have done as much as we can for now, and he has to be signed back in by Monday, so we’re heading home tomorrow.

In other news, Maddy is now five! We had a small birthday party for her here.

I’m not in as much of a mood to write as I thought I was, so I’ll try to come back and elaborate on everything soon.

Log in to write a note
May 17, 2013

Very sorry to hear about Jake’s Dad. 🙁