Goodness

I just did something that I feel very good about, for a couple of reasons.

 

I’ve mentioned before that I’m on a forum for Charlotte mommies. One of the mommies has a two week old son. They’ve been experiencing some problems with breastfeeding….at first he latched on great, then he’d only latch onto one side, and now he won’t latch at all. There’s a bit more to it than that, but that’s the major problem. She’s been pumping, but she’s only got a manual pump right now and it’s taking her awhile to get very much out. Anyway, she was worried about her supply of milk running out tonight before she could go get an electric pump tomorrow…

So, since she lives practically across the street from me, and I because I could…..I donated the bags of frozen milk I had to her. Breastfeeding is really important to her, and she was terrified at the thought of having to supplement with even a little bit of formula.

Some of you might think it’s a little weird, her giving her kid someone else’s breastmilk, but I feel good about being able to do that for her. I hate that so many of my other friends have had problems with breastfeeding, so any support that I can give to this mommy to help her succeed is well worth it in my book.

 

And, I got to meet someone new. I’m tired of being isolated and having no local friends. It’s not healthy for me and it wouldn’t be healthy for Noah.

Anyway, must tend to my little man. Hope everyone is having a good weekend!

 


Visit my website!

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2006

That was nice of you. I wish I would’ve been able to breastfeed. It STILL breaks my heart that I can’t. 🙁

November 4, 2006

RYN: I am on BC now so I can’t. I take Loestrin 24.

Aww Stace that was very sweet of you to do. I’m sure it was tremendously appreciated.

Well I personally think that was a wonderful thing for you to do. I tried to breastfeed all 3 of my children, but was unable and I know how heartbreaking that can be.

November 4, 2006

Wow Stace, that’s amazing! Very generous! Hey, do you want to come for a visit sometime soon? The best days for me are Fri, Sat & Sun, but I can make another day work too. We’re going to Roanoke this Fri to see my mom’s friend but other than that I’m pretty free.

November 4, 2006

i think that’s great!!!!

November 4, 2006

I think it was incredibly generous of you, and extremely helpful too!

November 5, 2006

I dont think that’s weird. I would have done the same thing. 🙂

November 5, 2006

I think that is great

November 6, 2006

How sweet! You rock. :o)

November 6, 2006
November 7, 2006

Thats so nice of you!!! Oh by the way, could you send my your address in a private note or something? thanks 🙂

November 10, 2006

That’s awesome- good for you! I’m sure she really appreciated it 🙂