Mmmm. Pig heart.

I’m such a bad diarist now.  I haven’t written a good entry in a long time, nor have I really left notes in many other people’s diaries.  I do read certain people, think about noting, but then hardly ever do.

Anyway, I’m still alive here in Texas.  It’s not really my favorite state.  People here love their state way too much.  It’s a kind of fanatical devotion to one’s state that could become dangerous in that they seem to believe their state can do no wrong.  Granted, not all Texans are like that, but that’s the general air I get.  I’m also not too comfortable about the whole being gay in Texas thing.  I’m kinda afraid some cowboy is going to burst into my apartment, tie me to the back of his pickup truck and then drag me for 10 miles through the desert.

I’ve found myself completely unmotivated to do any kind of school work.  It’s like I’ve lost that drive that used to make me want to get the best score I can get.  I haven’t read for any of my classes in over a week.  By now I’m probably several hundred pages in reading behind, but I’m not planning to ever read them anyway.  My assessment class is boring.  The professor assumes that everyone there will be doing assessments all the time after they graduate, and even if I were staying, I know I would never use what I’m learning in this class for my career.  I need to get 3 kids under 16 and 5 adults over 16 to do IQ testing on this semester.  If anyone lives within a few hours drive of Dallas or knows someone within a few hours drive of Dallas that would be willing to have a 2-2.5 hour IQ test done on them, let me know.  Or better yet, if you’re willing to do a battery of 3 tests over a few separate days, that would be awesome.

Quantitative methods is also boring.  It’s at least getting into a little more interesting stuff now, but gosh…  I was having so much trouble staying awake before.  Not to mention I could just read his powerpoint slides in 10 minutes and forget the lecture and learn just as much.

Medical and Behavioral Disorders, which is really just a human physiology class, is my favorite.  I guess I should have gone to med school.  A few of my classmates are going to get together and buy a pig heart to dissect (we’re studying the heart) then we’re going to cook it and eat it when we’re done, following a recipe our professor gave us the other night.  Mmmmm.  Pig heart.

On certain weekends, like next weekend, I’ll be going around the DFW area with a client who had a closed-head injury.  It has it’s good parts and it’s bad parts.  The bad part is it takes up 26 hours of my weekend about once a month.  The good part is that I’ll get to watch movies, go to museums and such, and eat as restaurants for free.

I’ve decided I’m going to dress up like Harry Potter for halloween this year.  I need to order my costume…  Speaking of halloween, by boyfriend will be visiting me that week!  I miss him a lot.  But it always makes me feel better about how my days are going when I get to talk to him.  He should be getting up soon.  🙂

Log in to write a note
September 23, 2006

I thought there was a pretty big gay population in Texas these days : ( On “King of the Hill” they had a gay rodea (which I ofund out do exist). I would like to go to a gay rodeo Probably more fun than a regular one, those take themselves too seriously : P

September 23, 2006

I’m thinking about being the main character from Rocky Horror (the name escapes me…)

September 26, 2006

Was it the Texas-shaped stepping stones at Wal*Mart?

September 26, 2006
November 7, 2006

I don’t know if you’ve done the IQ testing thing yet, but if you need me to, I’d be happy to do it.