Invest

Well I was having a good run for a few days, then dropped off a bit.  Here’s another entry, albeit a lame one.

I’ve decided I want to invest in a mutual fund.  I think I’ll have some money left over from my student loan after I do my interviews, so I want to invest that in a mutual fund.  I’ve been doing research on them and have come up with two that I like.

One has had good yields in the past, but the last couple of months haven’t been so good, so I want to keep an eye on that for a little bit.  It also claims to be "socially responsible" meaning that it only invests in companies that work to improve standards of living and aren’t involved in tobacco, liquor, gambling, or weapons manufacturing products.  I kind of like the idea of knowing none of the money I put in will be going toward making tanks or cigarettes.  This fund also has a pretty low minimum investment amount, so if I find I can only spare 50 dollars at one time, I’ll still be able to invest that amount if I want to.

The other fund hasn’t had as great yields, but it pretty stable.  The minimum investment is also twice as much, so I’d need 500 initially and then 100 more for each additional investment, which might be a bit harder to do.

Of course there’s also paypal’s money market fund.  Haha.  I just need to wait a bit and do a bit more research to see if the funds I’m looking at are worthwhile.  I really like that "socially responsible" one and will probably end up going with them.  Maybe with the dividends and capital gains being reinvested and additional investments by me, when I retire, I’ll have a good amount to live on.

Now I’m off to read some more Harry Potter.

Log in to write a note

I have three different investments; monitor them monthly, not daily, or you’ll go insane. And be in for the long run. 🙂

December 29, 2005

I just recently met a guy who went to University of Illinois for Finance and that’s what he did with almost all of his student loans. After 4 years, h’d made enough off the etra loan money to practically pay off the loans themselves.

December 30, 2005

Well you know what youre doing, so i now that whatever decision you make will be a smart one. BYE!