In Long Beach

I’m in California now.  Last time I wrote was sometime last year (technically) and I was trying to get through my visit with the parents in Georgia, but now I’m here with my boyfriend in Long Beach.  I like it here.

We haven’t completely gotten me moved in yet.  I still have stuff in Texas to pick up, including my car.  I also need to get my CA drivers license.  And I need to get a job.  I have no idea how to go about doing that, but I’ve applied at a few retail stores so far, will be applying at Disneyland, and may end up going to an employment agency if I still can’t find something.  I just need a job to last me until I at least get my debt paid off.  Then I just need a job to get me through teaching certification, or I may even be able to go directly into a teaching internship.  Unless I end up at a job that I absolutely love and decide to stay there indefinitely.

I’m always worried about something.  Always trying to plan.  Once I’ve got a job, I’m sure I’ll find something else to worry about.

Well…  At least when I get home from work now, I won’t have homework to do.  It’ll be a few household chores, then I can do whatever I want.  Including play Final Fantasy XII.  Or even Legend of Zelda (if we ever get a Wii).

We saw Happily N’Ever After.  It was cute.  Bad script, but cute.  I probably wouldn’t see it again, but I didn’t hate the movie.  We also finally had sushi.  It was splendid.  I also had some mexican food that Julian says still isn’t real mexican food, but is better than the tex-mex stuff in Texas.  It was pretty good.  I’d definitely eat it again.  And we had our anniversary dinner at Tu Tu Tango.  Next year we’ll have it on our actual anniversary.

Oh, and I got my letter from Hogwarts last week (Julian made me a really neat card "inviting" me to Hogwarts)!  I’m finally going to get to go to Hogwarts!  And Julian was nice enough to get me my textbooks (various books on Harry Potter) and a wand for Christmas/Anniversary.  Maybe I’ll become a wizard after all.

Hope everyone has a happy new year.  I know we’re already 9 days into it, but I haven’t written since then.  Be good.

Log in to write a note

Welcome to Cali! Watch out for Tigger if you get a job at D-Land!

January 9, 2007

Glad your clicking nicely with Long Beach : ) The palm trees scared me when I was there *lol* Something about being raised in the Northeast I guess ; )

January 9, 2007

oh, how we love the same video games….

January 10, 2007

i’m lovin ffXII right now. such a well done game. if i ever get a wii i’ll grab zelda too cuz i’ve heard it’s amazing. enjoy hogwarts! 😀

January 10, 2007

Congrats on making the move! Maybe we’ll see eachother some day! You should go to temp agencies (CoreStaff, AppleOne, etc.) The pay is okay, its pretty easy to get in with them. You just have to call religiously when you get signed with them to get them to get you your first job. Best of Luck!

January 15, 2007

I remembersomeone tellig a Nun that they should clean religiously. I think the Nun called the archbishop who called the Cardinal who called Rome. My then boss got chewed out. 🙂 – – – –