Credit

Well I finally joined the craze. I have, of course, already seen the four Harry Potter movies that are currently out, but I had never read the books. Tonight, I read Harry Potter and the Sorceror’s Stone straight through. What everyone says about them is pretty accurate. They are an easy read and are incredibly engaging. The characters and minor conflicts are real and easy to indentify with. I’m officially a fan of not only the movies, but also the books. I’ll start on the second one tomorrow.

Everyone is aware that tomorrow is Thanksgiving. For the record, I’d like to set everyone straight on certain things. God didn’t bless us with our computers, medications, food, clothing, etc. That was Dell, Pfizer, Taco Bell, and Calvin Klein. Give credit where credit is due. We humans can be evil, sinister, and malicious creatures, but some of us can also bring the world great things. There’s some wonderful farmer out there I have to thank for the peanuts that went in to making the peanut butter in my wonderfully delicious peanut butter and jelly sandwich. And I have my mother to thank for the jelly. I don’t know about you, but it’s been a long time since I’ve seen a deity come down and bless me with something that I have. It’s always been my fellow humans or the good fortune I bring myself. Take some credit for the good things you and fellow humans do. Stop giving God all the credit for miracles and blessings and blaming human sinfulness for hurricanes and misfortune. Religion is great, but don’t sell human achievement short by attributing everything good to a deity.

Anyway, not so much interesting has happened since last time I wrote. I turned in a proposal to get some money for that conference in D.C. I met with a gay ITS guy at my college to get the Student Government survey up (He was gay, I could tell within 5 seconds. I’m *that* good). I read some funny comic strips on some professors’ office doors. I ate an ungodly number of calories at one time from Wendy’s by means of a classic double with cheese and medium fries. I needed a big juicy burger though. I’m getting anxious to cuddle. With someone in particular. Not too much I can do about it at this moment though.

That’s it.

Log in to write a note
November 23, 2005

i am thankful for pants. yep.

November 23, 2005

i’ve been afraid to indulge in the harry potter books only because it seems “lower” than what i’d actually read…but i haven’t heard anything negative about them… maybe i’ll give em a go

I like this entry 🙂

November 25, 2005

To think that it wasn’t long ago that our anscestors were being picked off by giant feline predators. Then we learned to throw rocks.