Advice

So first of all, here is my advice to you:

Never let yourself get so attached and dependant on someone if you know that it can’t last forever. Once that person leaves, you’re left feeling abandoned, hopeless, and confused. It’s not a good feeling.

I still can’t get over this. I know that he’s gone, I know that it wasn’t his fault. I understand everything. Everything except why. Why he had to leave so suddenly, why I’m feeling the way I am about the whole thing.

Only because you are probably reading this and thinking "What the hell is this girl talking about? Wow, is she ever vague." I am going to elaborate and tell you what I’m talking about. For starters, I’m pretty much crazy. For the past 2 and a half, almost 3 years I have been talking to a youth counselor at my school. At the beginning of this school year (ie. a couple weeks ago) the school board layed off a bunch of counsellors in the area, and the rest got bumped down a level. Since my counsellor was last on the list, he had to take the contract jobs that are all over the place (and not at my school) So essentially, I can’t talk to him anymore, and I’m stuck with this other guy who I think is even crazier than I am.

Now here’s the part where your advice would be beneficial. What should I do to move on from this? Is it normal for me to feel so abandoned? Should I be less upset about this? What should I do about the new guy? I’m giving him another chance, but how many chances does he actually deserve? Should I be blaming this on him? Should I talk to him anyway in the hopes that it doesn’t actually end up making things worse?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks for reading.

Log in to write a note

no its not the new guys fault, and i think three chances is fair game. i think you should try to find where your old counsellor is now working, and try contacting them. see if there is anyway you can still see them. it is HARD to find someone whom you are actually comfortable talking to, if youve found them, try not to let them go. its perfectly normal to feel abandoned.

September 19, 2006

If there is any way possible you can keep talking to the guy you’ve been talking to… I’d do that. It’s perfectly normal to feel abandoned/lost- your backbone and true listener is unable to be there for you! Part of what you’re feeling towards this new guy is because he is new and you’re having to open up to someone else. Opening up is hard, especially if you’re used to someone who already

September 19, 2006

knew you and your life story. And another word- try not to assign blame. There is nothing in the world that is a single person’s fault and assigning blame creates problems in the long run. There is nothing to gain by doing so. : ) Just to try and move on from the things impacting your life at the time. Good luck and I hope things get better for you. Pz.

im flattered!!! so flattered! thank you. most of my poetry is on the diary something : rational but shhhhh dont tell anyone im the same person 😉 take care dear. and ANYTIME take me up on that offer

September 21, 2006

Of course that’s pretty normal to feel a little abandoned…I mean counselors/pshchaitrists/psychologists are supposed to create some type of a relationship with their patients, that way you can actually feel comfortable talking to them… -Rex