Confession 16

If you were reborn, what decade would you want to be born in?

The 1950’s. I LOVE everything about that era. I also feel like family was valued. It was a prized possession. Husbands valued their wives, they provided for them. Wives honored their vows and husband. Children were engaged more in family, chores, and the homestead. There weren’t as many outside distractions. You had simplicity. You have values. You had a slower pace of life.

Log in to write a note
September 17, 2024

When growing up, I had always thought that I was born in the wrong time, that I should have been born in the 90’s – the 1890’s or a little earlier.  Growing up in the 1970’s and 80’s I always felt intimidated by technology, as though I did not belong in that time.  But if I had to pick a decade now, I don’t think I’d want to go so far back as to not have much of what are considered modern amenities.  I’d probably pick the late 1930’s or early 40’s as a time to be born.  Some reasons similar to those you cite, such as that being a simpler, and seemingly better time.  Then there is also the notion I have ever so often of wishing I could go back in time to live in a particular decade.  Not as my younger self, but as an adult, as I am now.  I’d chose the 1980’s.

4 weeks ago

@schrecken13 I’m an 80’s baby; but I’m fond of the 90’s-so many sweet innocence. I have two sons that I feel would have been best suited/born in early decades. I have always felt as though they have “old souls”. Every decade/era has its struggles-I’d like to say living simpler is easier; but the work becomes harder-its hard to explain-almost a double standard or atondra? I’d really like to just relive my entire 30’s. 🤣😅

4 weeks ago

Not to be mean, but I’m guessing you’re white. For a lot of folks, the 50s were terrible. It’s always been “the best of times, the worst of times” for each era.

4 weeks ago

@solovoice whenever one prefaces with “not to be mean” it is assumed the following statement is a snide comment or indirectly “mean”. I am “white”, as you also appear to be from your profile picture (not to be mean). I am sure the 50’s were terrible for some as times are today REGARDLESS of color….The question posed simply asked a decade I would like to live in. And you reference my race, and then say its “the best of times and worst of times” for each era (I agree)-but what does race have anything to do with it? One could say that 2020 was terrible; and another will argue for them they thrived. Race is mute.

4 weeks ago

@showerconfessions I don’t know if you live in the US, but i can assure you that race wasn’t “mute” during the 50s and 60s. I lived through those times…and in the South! No offense was intended, just an observation.

4 weeks ago

@solovoice– I suggest you read more than one entry and you would know that I do live in the US. I also feel like it might give you insight on my writing style.

I never said ONE time that race was “mute” at that point in time as it is not in this day and age. It is just not something I am choosing to address. I have very strong opinions regarding race, equality and inequality. This is not the post for that. Why I ended with “race is mute” is because for the context of my post-it has no place. To better educate you, I am from the South 😉 a VERY small town with a highly prevalent KKK presence.

I am not sure what you observed? Observed that I would like to go back to a decade where times were simpler and family meant more. I didn’t say simpler for finances, race, etc. I said simpler. I reference FAMILY VALUES. The idealism of them. If you read;

“I also feel like family was valued. It was a prized possession. Husbands valued their wives, they provided for them. Wives honored their vows and husband. Children were engaged more in family, chores, and the homestead. There weren’t as many outside distractions. You had simplicity. You have values. You had a slower pace of life.”

No where do I state one race had it easier than the next.

We are not going to see eye to eye as your “argument” is not relevant to the post or my words referring to family values and how I long for that. Again I suggest you read more than one; as you might have an idea what family values is core for me.

4 weeks ago

@showerconfessions I don’t believe family values were any better than. Just my opinion.