A Long-Expected Party

 

This is my desktop background. It’s Gandalf while he’s still “the Grey”. I don’t know if the image depicts Gandalf as he journeys to the Shire to confirm his suspicions about Bilbo’s ring (now in the possession of Frodo), or after he meets with Radagast and sets off toward Isengard. Either way, I love the sense of urgency in Gandalf’s expression and gait contrast with the tranquility of the Shire as the clouds disperse in the background.

It is my desktop image because, besides being a dork, I like to be reminded that the world has never concerned itself with how busy its inhabitants happen to be.

Log in to write a note

nice pic 🙂 Chris

Tak
March 18, 2009

I was reading on probe.org how LOTR is a christian fairy tale…weird people. nice background though.

March 19, 2009

Yes, I have to laugh when storms are used to symbolize character angst. NYC birds singing like always on 9/11 is a much better reflection of reality as I’ve experienced it….

March 19, 2009

PS – You might enjoy this (if you haven’t already): How J.R.R. Tolkien Became a Christian Writer http://scifialliance9477.yuku.com/forum/viewtopic/id/3418

March 19, 2009

Either I received your card, or something very interesting is going on. “Zombies hate that you are awesome.” Came with a bookmark too. 🙂

March 20, 2009

Just realized I didn’t comment on the picture here. It’s quite cool. RYN: A nice couch and table for a combined $400 is awesome, but what the heck kind of rug is that?

March 22, 2009

i like gandolf the grey much better than the white. but then i like my characters with a little “darkness” in them.