Venom

Venom

(Dedicated to Love and Friendship.)

Two snakes in a garden sit.

One named love, the other friendship.

Between them sits a girl,

and these two comprise her world.

In one ear love whispers sweet lies.

He talks of joy and compromise.

In the other ear friendship whispers too.

His words a more vile brew.

Love continues, slithers near.

Whispers what she wants to hear.

“In the end it’s you I’ll choose.

You I never want to lose.

I just need time to wander free,

and eat off every other tree”

“He’s a loser”, friendship cries, “He lies.”

“He lies. Choose me” He drives her to insanity.

Friendship says, “I’m tried and true.I almost never lie to you”

Venom oozing hot and near,burns her in both ears.

Truth and lies not hers to hear.

And so she sits, in silence breathes,

peace for all eternity.

~Jackie Shannon Wheeler

Copyright ©2005 Jackie Shannon Wheeler

I was reading someone’s journal today and I felt the need to say this again. It made me feel better. Not a dis just an idea.

Log in to write a note

Thanks for your notes. Don’t worry I didn’t find it as a dis. I promise. Thank you for the encouragement.