Week in Big Smoke

I’m home from a week in Big Smoke. I drove there last Sunday not really knowing what to expect from the coming week. You see, I went there to select a therapist to help me process the whole experience of my having to take leave, as well as to see if there are any issues I’ve not yet worked through with regards to being gay. I saw two people, both very pleasant and both of whom I felt comfortable with. One works from a building in the inner city (which is very handy), the other works in a suburb across the other side of town from where I’ll be staying. The first uses feelings as a basis for exploration, the second is more into cognitive therapy. I’ve not yet reached a decision but hope to do so in the next couple of days as I need to make some appointments for the next few months to see the selected person.

The anti-depressant medication seems to be working well. I have experienced some very minor side effects. I have a dry mouth sometimes and my tongue feels different; occasionally there might be a very slight feeling of nausea; but other than these, all appears to be well.

My week in Big Smoke was a good change of air in the lungs. It was good to spend some times with trusted and caring friends. I went to an exhibition at the art gallery. And it was just good being away from home. As a matter of fact, it was a little difficult to get in the car and drive home. So, I’m looking forward to my next visit in a few weeks.

Log in to write a note
February 23, 2004

I hate having to spend a really great time somewhere and feeling dreadful about oging back to my life… Well, I don’t feel like that as often anymore – but I know what you’re talking about… -YG

April 16, 2004

I used to read your diary once, a year or so ago, when I was under a different author name. It’s good to see you are still around. I’ve read a few of your back entries, and I’m sorry to read you’re dealing with such difficult circumstances now. Much has changed for me, as I graduated from the Lay Ministry program last May, the ending of an affair I shouldn’t have been in… quite a lot.