Still waiting, still on leave – but still alive

I’m still on leave – and the way things are going I’ll still be on leave as we say good bye to this year and commence another. There’s a very real possibility then that I’ll not be able to celebrating Midnight Mass for Christmas – the first time ever since I’ve been ordained. I know it won’t be the end of the world and that I’ll survive – but some of you will understand the sheer and absolute uniqueness and beauty of Christmas Midnight Mass. Even if I wanted to sit in the congregation somewhere I’d have to drive for an hour to get to a parish where I’d be less likely to be known.

There’s a part of me that thinks I’m suffering from post-traumatic stress syndrome – even though I’m still in the midst of the stress. I’ll be speaking with my bishop tomorrow and asking him to support a strategy I have in mind to process this situation. I’d like to take a week off each month, for a minimum of six months with the possibility of extending it if necessary, to be able to go to Big Smoke, where the church has a place for priests to stay. While there I’d have two, maybe three, sessions with a counsellor or therapist of my choice to work through the whole experience and other related issues. The catch is, of course, that the diocese will have to pick up the tab. I’ve run the idea passed several competent people and they’re more than supportive of the notion. So, here’s hoping the bishop with think likewise!

There’s much more to write about but I’ve not the time just at the moment. I will get to it – eventually.

Keep the prayers coming!

Log in to write a note
November 13, 2003

Good luck getting the support of the bishop. you deserve it. and my prayers are still with you

December 14, 2003

15th December 2003 – hoping you are well and content, happy even. Christmas means more to you than to me, and I imagine you are feelign a bit glum at the moment – I hope that things turn out for the best for you soon.