Pleasant end to a difficult week

I’ve been out of sorts for the past few days. I sent a note to a local politician on a particular issue and it’s backfired on me. This politician wrote to my bishop complaining about the tone of the note and my bishop has sided with the politician. Now, whilst I think politicians should cop criticism sweet, and whilst I think the government is acting criminally and unconscionably on this issue, I’ve decided I have overstepped the bounds of civility somewhat. It’s distressed me quite a bit, especially that the bishop is disappointed in me. On the weekend I’ll write a letter to the politician apologising, not for the challenge, but for the tone.

On top of this I had the funeral today for the 18-year-old girl who committed suicide on Christmas Eve. This girl is from a culture not the same as mine so I was concerned that I might do or say something that was not in keeping with their culture. As well as this, the funeral of any young person and one who has committed suicide at that is extrememly difficult as there are no answers to the myriad questions people are asking and emotions people are feeling. I was grateful, then, when, after the funeral, one of the leaders of this ethnic group appraoched me and thanked me for the sensitivity and genuineness with which I led the service.

After this I went to my favourite nursery in Home City and purchased several hanging baskets containing some fuschias of differing colours to hang around my pergola where I love to sit of an evening in summer and read or have lunch in the warmth of the sun in winter.

It was then of to the movies with my sister, Patricia, to see “The Two Towers”, the second in “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy – a rewarding experience! It’s hard to believe that it’s been twelve months since we saw the first of the movies, and hard to think that it’ll be another year before we get to view the final of the set.

It was 9pm by this stage so Patricia and I went to an upmarket Italian restaurant and enjoyed some superb pasta (I had ortomare, and she had boscaiolla) followed by some equally delicious dessert (I had zabaglione, and she had tiramisu). While there, some good friends of mine arrived and we had a great chat over coffee.

So I’m feeling much brighter now than I was after receiving the letter from the bishop. There’s no reason why the weekend won’t be just as pleasant.

Log in to write a note

politicians are only one winged they can only do good with that you have 2 wings your good heart is balanced so dont let that annoying politician get u down just rememebr all you have to do is beat your wings to get a bit higher.

If I were you, I wouldn’t apologize for the tone of my letter. If you felt strongly enough that it affected your tone, there’s no reason for you to apologize. The politician seems to see your point of view; his complaint to your bishop is obviously just a childish way of “telling on you” since he can’t get the better of you any other way…

…So if you apologize, you’re letting him get the better of you. You’ll be apologizing for having strong feelings about an issue. Put it this way: unless you cursed him out, your tone couldn’t have been that bad. Criticism is criticism, and that’s all. He’s obviously not going to appreciate it even if you sugar-coat it. Please don’t apologize. Just explain this to your bishop.

January 3, 2003

“Telling on you” is exactly right. And it’s ridiculous, I know. Honestly, your bishop should have sided with you no matter what the issue unless you were truly out of line (which from the way you write in your diary, I can’t see this happening). Then again, you might have a politician for a bishop…that’s how Cardinal Mahoney here in Los Angeles seems to a lot of us. He’s out for himself… <P

January 3, 2003

…and no other, so surely if the same thing happened here, he would side with the politician. Unless, of course, it would hurt his standing in some way. (Can you tell I really don’t think too highly of the man?) Still, to keep the peace, I would write the apology. Not because you were wrong, but because someone has perceived you as that. This way, you smooth down fluffed fur without…

January 3, 2003

…(durn FOD notes, anyway) apologizing for your stance. It’s something the Little Flower would do, ya know. (Hey, she grooves. Gotta give her props.) You’ll make whatever choice is right for you, though. You’re too intelligent not to.

January 3, 2003

RYN: thanks for your support. On another topic, please clear up my apparent Protestant ignorance: I thought Roman Catholics wouldn’t do funerals for suicide?