Keeping myself sane

I’m managing to keep myself sane by catching up on some books that have been waiting to be read. Since last Monday I’ve read three and am now on my fourth. One was a novel called “The Da Vinci Code” by Dan Brown, a story about the Holy Grail, secret societies, Opus Dei, murder, art, and more. It was instructive about some matters – the Divine Number, for example – and parts of the book were plausible. A good diversion from my troubles.

The next was a book by Erik Larson on the 1893 World’s Fair in Chicago. Some fascinating information in it. For instance, the Ferris Wheel was America’s answer to the Eiffel Tower. The Eiffel Tower had been constructed for the previous World’s Fair held, of cource, in Paris. Burnham, the man responsible for the Chicago event, needed something to “out-Eiffel Eiffel”. The gum, “Juicy Fruit”, was created for Chicago, and alternating current used for electricity owes its existence to Chicago. I read the book as a means to learning something of Chicago’s history as I hope to participate in a sabbatical course there in a couple of years. Which means I’m in search of some other books on Chicago’s history.

Next was a book, a journal really, detailing a year in the life of one of our country’s most respected and brilliant priests.

The book I’m currently on is “Lives of Moral Leadership” by Robert Coles. It’s an engaging book about moral leadership, what it is, how it is achieved, and how it inspires. People like Dorothy Day, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Robert Kennedy, and other not-so-famous people are explored.

Come the weekend I hope to be able to start the new Harry Potter book. I bought a copy last weekend, but my youngest sister immediately kidnapped it. If she is still holding out for a ransom I’ll start reading Simon Winchester’s “Krakatoa: the day the world exploded.”

I had dinner on Monday evening with a couple of priests who are friends of mine, and last night I attended the monthly meeting of a group I belong to which seeks to support refugees.

So I’m keeping my head above water. If the situation looks like being protracted I’ll consider going away somewhere for a while. I’m hopeful, though, that it will all be over very soon.

Log in to write a note

Well hun, i hope everything goes smoothly for you. I miss your homilies! You will continue to be in my prayers, God bless!!! Oh, and the new Harry Potter is good! I actually cried, lol. Have a great week, have strength.

i’m in shock about you stepping down as parish priest but its a bit hard to know what is happening without the full story. I’ll keep you in my prayers. Keep smiling

not sure what the whole schpiel is with you taking leave, but i hope it clears itself up in the end. the new Harry Potter book is amazing! i finished it in three days. make the most of your time off.

We haven’t spoken in ages, but I’ve been reading. I would like to get back in touch with you, especially because I’m concerned about what’s going on…. My e-mail address is nickiox99@aol.com. Please be in touch.