First funeral for the new year

Well, so much for having a couple of quiet days either side of New Year’s Day. I have a funeral to organise for an 18-year-old girl who committed suicide on Christmas Eve. The reason for the late notification is, of course, the need for an autopsy and the lack of working days. Her funeral is to be on Friday. I’m seeing the family tomorrow morning to arrange the funeral and spend time with them.

Log in to write a note
December 29, 2002

Very sorry to hear that – it seems to be a bad time of the year every year for suicides – unmet expectations, tension, hot weather (though it happens in Northern hemisphere too)-very sad for you too. Best wishes for the New Year and thanks for all I have learned from you this year.I liked your message about us being a source of peace bit by bit in our interesactions with those around us. Hugz<P

poor thing, sigh i feel bad for her i bet she had second thoughts……

My God — suicide on Christmas Eve. Wow. She is in my prayers, tonight. And in response to one of your previous entries, I hope that I am not one of those with whom you feel you’ve lose contact. I’m here…just moving about sporadically… You know where to reach me.