Feast of Saints Sergius and Bacchus

Today, 7th October, is the feast day of Saints Sergius and Bacchus.

Sergius and Bacchus are ancient Christian martyrs who were tortured to death in Syria because they refused to attend sacrifices in honour of Jupiter. Recent attention to early Greek manuscripts has revealed they were openly gay men and that they were lovers. These manuscripts are found in various libraries in Europe and indicate an earlier Christian acceptance of homosexuality.

After their arrest the two saints were paraded through city streets in women’s clothing, treatment that was meant to humiliate them as officers in the Roman Army. They were then separated and each was tortured. Bacchus died first and appeared that night to Sergius who was beginning to lose heart. According to the manuscripts, Bacchus told Sergius to persevere as the delights of heaven were greater than any suffering, and that part of their reward would be to be reunited in heaven as lovers.

The saints are particularly popular throughout Mediterranean lands and in Latin America and among the Slavs. For nearly a thousand years they were the official patrons of the Byzantine armies, and Arab nomads continue to revere them as their special patron saints.

So I celebrated their feast day by buying a magnificent bunch of brightly coloured flowers and putting them in an appropriate vase. I then celebrated Mass here in my home, wearing red vestments of course (the colour for martyrs). Mass was in their honour and during it I prayed for all those people throughout the world who are gay or lesbian. I prayed for those who have partners, those who have a deceased partner, those who desire a partner, those who are single, those who have difficulty accepting their sexuality, those who have difficulty being accepted by others, those with HIV/AIDS, and the families and friends of gays and lesbians. I prayed especially for young gays and lesbians. And, of course I prayed for all who support me in any way.

I also have decided that in honour of Sts Sergius and Bacchus I will each year celebrate my “Coming Out Day” on this day. On this day I will celebrate that I welcome and accept my true self and that I have shared this knowledge of self with other trusted friends who support and care for me.

Thanks to Tim for his suggestions and advice, and to Alex for his friendship and unfailing support of my priesthood.

</FO

Log in to write a note
October 7, 2003

Oh, so that’s why your name is Sergius. Interesting history lesson -thanks. I’m glad you are honouring yourself in all your rich complexity- may you continue to be strong in your self-esteem and the love you share will all who know you.

October 7, 2003

RYN: thanks, i feel very honoured.

i’m glad that you’re writing again. what a touching entry.

October 7, 2003

thank you… that is so nice of you to offer help… in as much as i would have wanted to talk about how i feel right now about daddy beau having left me a few months back i chose not to talk about it all to anyone after i have cried so much in pain and of feeling so alone… thank you… Sebastian Valmont