Curious Letter

A curious letter arrived in the post today. It’s from my local state government representative. I’ve never received a letter like it in my fifteen plus years as a priest. The cynical part of me says it’s a standard form letter that’s gone out to all ministers of religions in the area, and is a bit of a political stunt to make churches and their ministers feel they’re being consulted. But another part of me says it could be a genuine call for help as I’m known locally in the wider community for standing up on matters of social justice and he could honestly be seeking some input. Whether he’s being crafty or sincere I’ll reply that I’m more than happy to meet with him at a convenient time to discuss various issues and that he needs to be aware that I’m not the pious, docile, conservative that people sometimes expect priests to be. Top of the list will be equal rights and recognition for same-sex couples – that’ll get him going! 

What did he ask? Here’s the text of the letter:

I am writing to you as one of our important community leaders to advise that I am keen to hear of any major issues concerning your congregations. I would also wish to gain your adivce on any significant matter you feel should be brought to my attention in my position as your member of government.

I have already been called upon to vote on two conscience issues in Government. When these issues are raised for discussion I would like to take the opportunity to contact you to call on your experience and spiritual advice to help guide my decision on these subjects. I found this sounding board contact to be of great value last year when I contacted several church leaders.

I hope that you will be able to assist me in these matters and I look forward to reading or discussion any issues you wish to raise.

Yours sincerely . . .

Log in to write a note
January 14, 2004

sounds like he wants to hear from you.

January 14, 2004

hoorah! do it! Love and Hugs, -Amber

January 14, 2004

yay! use the oppurtunity… good to hear that you stand up for what you believe in…

January 14, 2004

It sounds like either hypothesis of yours could be right – I hope your genuine open-mindedness can help him or her to meet you half-way. About Lillias’ question: I’m sure this has been raised with you before, but it is an old question: Who does the church belong to? the people or those in the Vatican’s halls? As an ex-Catholic, I still take an interest, so sad to see the pain. Best wishes,