Bringing you up to date

It’s been almost three years since I left the priesthood, and it’s been an interesting ride. I’m now living in Sydney (Australia), have a good job as a funeral consultant, very involved in the GLBT (gay, lesbian, bisexual transgender) community – especially through Metropolitan Community Church Sydney, and have a circle of wonderful friends. That’s not to say life’s perfect. In fact, while I’m happier, life is much harder. Being a priest is a comfortable existence: you don’t have to worry about where to live, paying rent and utility bills, and paying for groceries. Many priests also don’t have to worry about buying a car and the expenses associated with keeping it on the road. Now, I have to worry about all those things, and sometimes there’s not a lot of money left at the end of the pay week.

Anyway, I’ll write more soon. I just wanted to prevent my diary from being deleted. I’ll be back soon.

Log in to write a note
August 17, 2007

It was good to read something from you again.