More of New Orleans. **with OMG edit**

The last couple days of us in the NOLA was filled with going to the Ogden Museum and The Contempory Arts Center

 

My facial hair was getting out of control, and I didn’t bring a beard trimmer, so I shaved it off.

Don’t I look like a 12 year old?

Oh, and we had breakfast at the Coffee Pot.  By far the worst service I’ve ever had in my life.

And for the big splurge.  Mike and I have been looking for chandeliers to hang over our kitchen island.  Seriously, we’ve been looking for like 6 years.  We have never found the "ones" (you know, because we need a set)

Check out these beauties!

so there are two of them, and they are PERFECT.  The purple in the grape clusters match perfectly with our granite counter tops!  These beauties are c. 1890 Baccarat crystal.  Thank goodness that they have a lay-a-way.  Yep, we are ghetto and put them on lay-a-way.  Hey, bitches gotta do, what we gotta do for our shinny lights.

The people in New Orleans, save the hotel service staff, where the nicest people we’ve ever met.  The first night Mike was there, we met the lawyer named Hillary (yes, it’s a dude’s name too) and his wife Mary.  We met Hill in the bar of a restaurant we where waiting for a table in.  He needed a place to sit and wait for his wife, and our table had an extra seat.  We hit it off with him, and ended up going out after dinner with them and drank till 2am. On a Tuesday.  Don’t these people have jobs and families to get back too?  They where a kick in the pants though.

Oh, I also asked Mike to marry  me that night.  I was about to do it, but then Hill walked up and asked for the seat.

I asked Mike later during dinner. 

Arn’t we just the cutest couple?

Mike would kill me for posting that pic.  Oh, and doesn’t that big church behind us TOTALLY look like the castle at Disneyland? 

 ***with Queen Edit*

I just got an email that Dolly Parton is comming to Portland in August.  Yes, I joined the stupid fanclub like a year ago just so I could get pre-sale tickets.  And they FINALLY announced a Portland show.  

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

yall are the cutest couple. thanks for coming to support new orleans. we need more people to come enjoy us to bring it back what it use to be.

I do not understand why you did not take me with you. I love vacations on someone else’s dime. Especially to New Orleans!

May 5, 2008

OMG we have some time before 30! oh and I thought you guys already were married for like, years, no? am I totally wrong?

May 5, 2008

I love the theme – we went to a 20s NYE party and it was SO FUN! You will have a blast. And yeah, you guys should have like a wedding WEEK!

May 5, 2008

🙂 – – – –

May 5, 2008

Oy, what a baby face you have!

May 5, 2008

hahaha my bf LOVES Dolly. Should I be concerned? 🙂

May 5, 2008

Can you get their authenticity validated? Those are highly copied pieces, and could be modern.

May 5, 2008

RYN: Dude! Thank you for asking. The calf muscle is healing fine. Biking uses more quad strength than calf, thankfully. I find it ironic that the New Orleans Contemporary Art Museum is housed in an historic (old, non-contemparary) building. Love the chandeliers and church! Cheers!

May 5, 2008

LOVE Dolly. Logo shows this documentary called For the Love of Dolly, which follows four sets of Dolly fans around. They are just scary. But oh how I loves me some Dolly.

May 5, 2008

PS: Love Dolly’s new back-to-her-roots bluegrass style. Enjoy.

You two are a damn sexy couple. I want to go and meet people in New Orleans. I have never really been to the South except Texas and that’s more Southwest, but they were so firendly there and if New Orleans people are friendly as well it’s for sure a place I shall visit eventually. The Chandeliers are to die for. Gorgeous!

May 5, 2008

I love your face clean shaven!! You are TEH CUTE! Oh, and you’re cute with the goatee too… but I like the clean face! Go figure. SO relieved to read you’re getting those chandeliers. They are gorgeous!!! And… so what did Mike say when you popped the question???!???? I hope it was YES!

Dolly-FREAKIN-Parton??? OMG. I ♥ Dolly…seriously, everyone makes fun of me cause I’m such a Dolly freak! You are SOOOO lucky! The chandeliers are gorgeous! I’ve never seen anything like it! So I’m assuming Mike said yes???? You big dork, you never said! I’m happy for you guys!

May 5, 2008

i love that first photo of you. i’ve always wanted to go New Orleans, and I had an opportunity the summer before the hurricane hit. Wish I had, now!

May 6, 2008

You know you’re gay when you’re taking pictures of the chandeliers. ThatÂ’s like taking pictures of interesting doors and gates.

RYN: Thanks for your kind words. I still love to talk to mom, its the difference in the tone of our conversations that I am having difficulty with. BTW: Yah, the pic is me. I don’t particularly like it, but my Travis does and he wanted me to use it here. I honestly didn’t pose for it. He took it and I didn’t know until we got home.

June 11, 2008

Are you guys really going to get married? I’m jealous about the chandeliers!