in points

  • I leave for New Orleans on Saturday.  Can’t wait.  Anyone have any suggestions on where to go?  I’m staying at the Hilton Riverwalk, which they tell me is near the French Quarter. 
  • Mike and I went to a party for the artist Erik White on Friday night.  It was held at the Mississippi Ballroom over in the Mississippi arts neighborhood.  I forget what they dress like on the East side.  Mike and I wore our usual uniform of jeans, dress shirt, sport coat, and boots.  We where way over dressed in the Emo hipster scene. 
  • We didn’t stay long.  The band started playing and the music is so freakin loud that you couldn’t have a conversation.  So we bailed.
  • We did hang out with our friend Gary and Carl.  Carl is a stand up comic and has a morning show on our local Air America station.  He gave me the inside dirt on why Randi Rhoads go fired.  Ya, not a good idea to call Hillary Clinton a "Fucking Whore" at a personal appearance.
  • His stories of him and Thom Hartman are hilarious.
  • Saturday night we threw a dinner party.  It’s been awhile since we did on of those!  The Brazillian and his wife came over, as did Mike and Sheila, and Trevor, and last was Mike’s grad school friend Andy, who also brought his dog.
  • Good food, a case a of wine, an amazing key lime pie, desert wine, and close friends.  I missed it.
  • Trevor and Sheila stayed the night.  Sheila’s husband Mike was sick, so he only drove her, cooked the side dish (he is an amazing cook) then left.  He picked up Sheila the next morning.
  • When Mike showed up to pick Sheila up he brought in a dozen eggs, shittake and crimini mushrooms, and onions, and bagels.  He then whipped up a breakfast frittata for everyone.    Not a bad way to start Sunday.
  • Sunday was spent doing chores, eating, sleeping, and grocery shopping. 
  • Oh, Saturday I got my hair cut.  She went a little high and tight, so for the next week or so I look like a freshly recruited marine.
  • How butch.

 

Log in to write a note

I love how you said “How Butch”. You are just so cute. That Frittata sounded delicious. Leave it to a chunky chick to notice the food. Calling any female politician an an effin whore isn’t too smart, lol.

April 7, 2008

Could be worse, you could look like an old used up marine… Young and and recruit are still good words at our age!

April 7, 2008

ryn: Dononvan Homes. They’re building my house.~jo

April 7, 2008

You have a good life. I love the dinner parties you throw. xoxo,

April 7, 2008

i’ve never been to new orleans!! let me know what it’s like. i almost went about two months before the hurricane when i visited friends in KS — now i regret not going. i like hair a little longer — i’ll wait till yours grows out to hit on you 🙂

April 8, 2008

Oh, and pick up a copy of “Where Y’at?” Magazine. It’s got a list of great places to eat. I’m sure I’ll leave another 12 notes about where to go. Jazz & Blues music: Frenchman street (it’s where the locals go). Try a muffalatta, a REAL hurricane, a *grumble* Hand grenade, and seafood whenever possible. you can get a steak or burger when you get home. Expect to spend money. Lots ofit. We may be the Big Easy, but we aint the Cheap Sleazy.

J2
April 8, 2008

you are gonna have a great time in NO!