Another example on why Civil Union is not Marriage

I know this is getting down to nitty gritty, but it’s just another example on how unfair the current marriage laws are to gay couples.
 
Mike and I are changing health insurance, and I have a medication that is $175/month out of pocket.  Because we are not a heterosexual married couple, we can not use our pre-tax dollars to cover this medical expense. 
 
 
CIGNA Choice Fund Health Savings Account (HSA), Powered by Chase
 
Domestic Partners/Civil Union Partners
If you have a domestic partner, civil union partner or same sex spouse, you may not be able to use your HSA funds for their qualified expenses, even if they are covered under your medical plan, because federal law does not recognize them as a spouse. You can only use your HSA funds for your domestic partner, civil union partner, or same sex spouse’s expenses if you can claim them as a dependent for federal tax purposes.
 

And to the ass hat who said that marriage was "our" thing.  Fuck you.  You’re a douche, and I deleted you from my favorites many months ago, because of your general douchery!

Log in to write a note
November 13, 2008

I’m sorry hun. It’s so unfair.

That’s stupid! There has to be some way around it. Gotta be creative, like something with the hsa accounts or something.. hmm.. I will ponder this for a bit..Stupid STraight people!

while it’s not fun to see relationships go asunder, I’m proud of how seriously people are taking this. When I was a hooker you wouldn’t believe some of the crap I’d see on hooker boards by married men WHO WERE CHEATING ON THEIR WIVES

November 13, 2008

Ugh. That sucks, wish there was a way around it.

November 13, 2008

That is such a cop out for insurance companies. It’s so brutal how they claim to be accepting by allowing same sex partners on the benefits but then they totally screw you over for it. With the company I work for they add the theoretical cost of the insurance if it were not under a group plan to the earnings of the employee and then tax them on it as income. It really should be illegal to do that. Rawr.~jo

If I was president I would make sure you could get married married.

November 13, 2008

Preach it, Reverend Screech.

$175 a month = less than $6 a day. By the looks of it, you cram more than that much junk food into your fat piehole every day. How about cutting that out? Gays can’t marry!

I agree with you on his doucheness…I deleted him for other moronic comments as well.