Strolling across the spine of the steel serpent

Well, I finally did it – I registered to walk the Bay Bridge this fall. It was a bit more costly than I had expected, but if I am able to do it, it will be so worth it. This is something that I’ve always wanted to do, but just never really looked into it. My husband cannot fathom why anyone would want to do such a thing, but clearly I’m not the only one as some of the starting times had already been sold out. If the weather holds out, on the 10th of November I will be strolling across the spine of the steel serpent of the Bay, the metal monster of the Chesapeake. The walk will take place that morning, on the eastbound span. Which is the older of the twin serpents, built in the early 1950’s. Supposedly drivers tend to fear the westbound (early 1970’s) span more because they can see thru the railing. The eastbound side has a jersey wall but it only has two lanes, and so is narrow and perhaps more confining to some drivers. But for walkers it will be a wide open space. None of this would have been possible when my parents were born, as the metal monster had yet to exist. It had been planned for sometime, but WW2 set the project back quite a few years and the original span didn’t open until 1953. And it wasn’t more than a few months until someone did the unthinkable and jumped from that shiny new span. Yes, I’m sure that morbid part of the monster’s history will be in the back of my mind on that November morning. As it was when I walked the New River Gorge Bridge on another Sunday morning earlier this year. But it isn’t just past history, as both neither of these bridges has been forced into a state of semi or complete retirement when it comes to hosting jumpers. Both are untamed, unchained and unfettered iron monsters that still draw those who have a death wish. And the deaths continue to this day. The New River Gorge Bridge is unique in that it hosts both those who come to make merriment as well as those who come to end their misery. The Bay Bridge, however, is very much a workhorse, just like its now destroyed kin, the Key Bridge. But for a few morning hours once a year, it becomes something else. A curiosity, a novelty, a tourist attraction? I think it is all of that even when it is doing its 24/7 duty of carrying heavy traffic across the bay. Its dubious distinction as the “scariest bridge in the US” probably draws some to drive across it just to see if it lives up to its reputation. On the day of the run/walk, will most people be there just to get some exercise and check out the views? I wonder if any will be like me who want to get an up close look at the legendary metal monster?

Log in to write a note