Impressive things of beauty

(Note – this was actually written at the beginning of June of this year)

When I was little I loved to go to the zoo (and the circus when it came to town) and look at the animals, especially the large, fearsome predators like lions and tigers. I admired their power, beauty and majesty and I was compelled to learn as much as I could about them. I found them endlessly fascinating, and still do to this day. But I was also keenly aware that on occasion, people who have interactions with these animals sometimes suffer a gruesome fate. Ignorance, nonchalance, foolishness, and for a few even a death wish, can result in devastating injuries and death. These animals are what they are, deadly predators, as is their nature, which cannot be changed. What determines the outcome of such interactions is how we as humans regard – and respect them.

Perhaps I can find it in myself to look upon these man made beasts in much the same way. Impressive things of beauty and majesty to be admired, stunning achievements of design and construction, but also knowing the dangers they can present to the careless and those determined to die. And to realize that most all of the dead are deceased due to the negligence of themselves or others (automobile accidents, construction accidents and poor maintenance) or their own choice to end their lives. Finally is how to regard those who suffer from sheer, unadulterated terror when faced with crossing bridges. While I am thankfully unaffected by this malady, the fact that it exists does lend an air of unease to such mighty structures. Clearly there are factors present to inspire such primal fears. Just knowing that there are people out there who would almost rather die than traverse the deck truss walkway of the New River Gorge Bridge definitely says something. Or at the very least they would feel like they are going to die if they tried… And surely there are some who still take the old back roads just to avoid driving over it! It seems a bit perverse and twisted to actually want to interact with that which totally terrifies some people. They break out in a cold sweat and run away, and yet here I am running towards the same and seeking it out on purpose. It is something I feel I must do at this point in my life, in part, yes, for the sheer thrill of it. But also to try to consolidate all of these thoughts, experiences and emotions up until this point. That is my aim for this journey.

And when the day and time comes, might I again expect to feel a sense of awe, amazement and perhaps even a touch of fear? Especially that latter emotion as I look down from a truly dizzying height to the earth and river below? I can only hope I do have all of that to look forwards to….To be able to come full circle, to continue that path I found myself on so long ago and meet this mighty monster that survives the Key Bridge. And most importantly, to be able to deal with these recently resurfaced emotions. 

The time is rapidly drawing nearer, the day coming ever closer when I will have my appointed up close visit with West Virginia’s epic – and much celebrated – metal monster. It’s only a week away now, and needless to say my excitement is building. I’ve done my due diligence by looking at photos, videos and reviewing articles relating to the bridge and the walk across it. But I know that sort of thing never does justice to the actual experience. I’ve even had some dreams about it, but thankfully they were not scary ones! A slight sense of nervousness, and a minor trepidation of venturing out into the unknown were present in those dreams and also in my waking mind. Perhaps my knowledge of the full history of this monster will make for a more intense experience. I have an idea of what to expect and yet I don’t…

While I’m not afraid of heights, I’ve never been up that high above the ground outside of being in an airplane. I’ve never looked out of the windows (or from a balcony) of a building any higher than about 22 stories. But this is of course far different, no windows, no glass – just open air and a very, very long walkway high above the river below. It is said by some that the traffic on the road above causes the bridge to also move which can be felt by those who walk beneath it. That would surely seem to be most unnerving. This disturbing characteristic seems to be a thing with some bridges but one that I’ve never experienced personally. As having never been stuck in traffic nor having walked across a large bridge, this sensation is unknown to me. Maybe, like my experience with the Key Bridge, it will be quite different from what I’m expecting. Or maybe not. All I can do now is just to wait until this day comes as my anticipation grows….

Log in to write a note