A visit to the shore

Of the three steel titans of the Delmarva area (the Key Bridge, the Delaware Memorial and the Bay Bridge), I would have to say that the Delaware monster is the most dreadful and intimidating looking upon approach. The Key Bridge would have come in second, as it was somewhat steep, and the Bay Bridge last, as it has a more gentle grade due to its length. Clearly the steepness and height of the green monster strikes terror into some people, as the state police will drive frightened motorists across the bridge if requested. Sadly, there are now only two titans left in this trio of terror. But one day, in the future there will be three of them again. With the green monster being the shortest, height wise, as before. This is also a strange paradox, as although the Delaware monster is the shortest, you would not know to look at it. Despite its lesser height, it looks very, very tall when you start up the incline of the span. The Key Bridge looked more menacing because of its arched truss, but the Delaware Memorial Bridge also seems to have a serious illusion of scale going on. Not unlike the way that some animals can fluff up their fur to make themselves look bigger and more intimidating. There is something about the way the green monster is constructed that makes it look more visually impressive than the other two titans. Speaking of the third titan, I can just imagine what the new Key Bridge will look like as drivers approach it. It’s no wonder the state has asked the same driving company that helps phobia sufferers across the Bay Bridge to plan on offering that service for the new Key Bridge! Apparently the state anticipates that this new bridge will inspire sheer terror in some people, even though ground has yet to be broken for it.

Delaware’s monster

It is the end of the weekend and I have returned from the Jersey shore. My trip was quite productive and I accomplished most everything I set out to do. Wildwood, New Jersey is a very nice beach destination, much better than Ocean City in Maryland. The boardwalk is expansive, access to the beach itself is free and everything is very clean. I enjoyed my first visit to the roller coaster event at Morey’s Piers and I added to the number of roller coasters I’ve ridden in my lifetime. Yes, I am one of those people who do take an accounting of such things and keep a list. When you belong to a roller coaster and ride enthusiast club you do tend to seek out and record such ride credits. I’ve slacked off a bit in recent years where circumstances have meant I’ve done less traveling than normal. But I am getting back into visiting amusement parks whenever I am able. As of now I estimate I’ve ridden over 270 different roller coasters. I rode all of the coasters at Morey’s Piers and also rode all of the other major thrill rides. As for my husband, he just wandered around, on the boardwalk and other places. Generally he seeks out thrift stores and pawn shops while I ride. My next amusement park trip will be in early September, when I will head back to Hershey Park, which contains several of my most favorite roller coasters. And then I will be at Kings Dominion in October.

The only part of my trip that didn’t go so well was on the return. Not unexpectedly, my husband balked about heading south instead of going back the way we came. I could not tell him I wanted to go that way to see that creepy bridge and film a drive over of it. He said he hated driving on Rt 301 and that we’d get home after dark if we went that way. So close and yet so far…sigh. But I did film a drive over of the big green monster on the way home. I got the “money shot” demonstrating the steepness of the two huge spans flying high above the Delaware river. He didn’t complain too much about that. But finally I sort of ‘fessed up” about wanting to see the mini-Skyway and he couldn’t understand it at all. All I know is he had no intention of going home that way. I suppose, for now, I’ll have to admire that mini monster from afar. The Bay Bridge will have to wait until the fall, when, hopefully, if all goes well, I’ll be able to walk its span. I did get a sort of “consolation prize” when we drove across the Conowingo Dam, which was kind of neat to see. It is a very old (late 19th century) hydroelectric power station located in the north eastern part of Maryland. I didn’t bother to film it as I was tired at this point, but my husband couldn’t understand why. Probably because there isn’t much to see from the road, and, of course, it’s not a bridge!

Log in to write a note