Painting

The kitchen really needs to be painted. It’s really getting gross. And as most of you know, painting the kitchen is one of the worst rooms to do, besides the bathroom. Lots of stuff to go around so it’s difficult to get a good speed and lots of stuff not to drop paint on.

After months of thinking about the kitchen and think about the kitchen doesn’t seem to get the kitchen painted, I finally took advantage of a dreary and drizzly Sunday afternoon and drove out to Home Depot to buy the paint.

This is where Ray would come in. He’d help me decide what colors I wanted. He’d help me with painting. In fact, he would probably do the whole kitchen himself. He was just awesome tackling projects and getting things done.

So now it’s up to me, and me alone, because Joe is of little help deciding on colors and stuff, to decide about color schemes.

Joe will help me paint, but he rarely does a project on his own. We usually do projects together so we can bicker about who’s in charge and who’s going to do what and who gets their way. I just cringe thinking about it.

My kitchen is the lightest room in the house. I have six windows in the kitchen, including a bay window and a patio door. It’s also a large because the previous owners added on to the kitchen and expanded it out the back of the house.

And because it’s large, it’s also complicated, because the size allows for lots of cabinets. Lots of cabinets mean we get to paint around all of them. Carefully.

The windows also add to the complexity. More stuff to paint around. Carefully.

Currently, the kitchen is a light beige, and I’ll keep that color since it’s in the rest of the house. The trim is white and I decided to change that to a cranberry color, which is also in part of the house.

The big light kitchen can use a darker color and I think cranberry will work well. My color coordinator is no longer with me, but I’ll trust my instincts on that one.

I bought brushes and rollers. We have the roller pans and I think I have a roller extension in the basement. I need that to paint the ceiling.

I’m set.

I’m not sure when I’ll start, but I definitely would like the kitchen done by Thanksgiving. If we work at it steadily, it might take a couple of weekends, at the most three weekends.

So I’m ready. No excuses.

Log in to write a note
gel
October 6, 2013

Good luck!

October 6, 2013

I painted my grandma’s kitchen when I was a teenager. Such a miserable experience! Hopefully you like the color you choose.

October 6, 2013

The grass is such a pretty green.

October 6, 2013

The cranberry and beige sound like a great combination. I love the contrast, and you’ll still have the lightness because you’re just darkening the trim.Love the photo, too.