Trip to NYC

I thought it was about time I wrote a new entry and mentioned my amazing trip back to New York. I think we came back 2 weeks ago now but I still have lots of chocolate left and I was able to buy the new Jodi Piccoult book just before it was released here – I finished the book last night, it was really good – I hadn’t been able to put it down.

We had 4 nights in New York and we managed to pack a lot into our short break. I have finally been up the empire state building and was lucky to go early evening and see the light changing in the sky. We also went to the top of the rock at the Rockerfeller centre which has a great view because you can actually see the empire state building from up there. We took a water taxi out towards the Statue of Liberty and went under Brooklyn bridge. We decided against going to Ellis Island and Statton Island because the view of the statue would be from underneath and I wanted to get some good shots from close up.

We met up with a friend of mine who is American who lives in Scranton. I have only met her 3 times in my life but we get on really well and message and email each other. She is really into musuems like my sister and is a real brain box when it comes to exhibitions. She took us to the musuem of natural history which was really cool. They had some special exhibitions there which we went in – we got to go into a greenhouse full of beautiful butterflies (it was very similar to the one at London zoo) they also had a display of priceless stones and gems which I liked very much and we got to see a beautiful silk rug made from spiders silk. I think we spent pretty much all day with her and she took us to FAO Schwatz which I really wanted to visit as it is the really famous toy shop that appears in the film Big. Mike and I walked back towards our hotel via Central park which looked beautiful in the sunny weather. We did the downtown loop tour bus which I did a few years ago but as I have only ever had 1 day in New York we could spend our whole day doing the tour this time and get off at more stops like Soho, Times Square and China Town.

On our last day before we flew home we visited Madame Tusssauds – I have never been to the one in London but now I would like to vist that one as it was really good fun. I couldn’t get over how good the figures are. Apparently they are all made in London and flown over to the other sites. I guess we must be really skilled in England!

Log in to write a note
April 29, 2010

lol you got it, the skill is in England! 😀 Glad you had such a great time Clarabelle! :)xx

April 29, 2010

ryn: I used to be really sensitive to chocolate and get headaches from it, but nowadays I rarely do! I still get headaches from cheese if I eat too much of it, so I am still sensitive to dairy products. Ah well, chocolate is the best! lol I don’t like getting my hands wet when I’m wearing rings, either. I just either take it off or let the water go aroundddd that area lol (unless my handsare really dirty of course!!) But yeah, I do find them annoying for that reason, but they’re also prettyyyy 🙂 I hope they’re able to get a diagnosis from your endoscopy and give you something to make you feel normal again *hugs*xxx

oooh what Jodi Picoult book is it??