Mouths Of Babes.

It dawns on me while I am lying mashed into the mattress waiting for my alarm to go off. My eyes fly open. For someone who thinks about themselves and who they are becoming as much as I do, it surprises me to ever be surprised. But not only do I not believe in god now, but I never did. Not as far back as I can remember. You see, now I have reasons. Logic. And it’s not a sad thing. It’s not a hopeless thing, or a world-hating thing. It just is what it is.

But back when I was four and five. My mother taught Sunday school for twenty something years but we were never a strictly religious family. I didn’t have negative experiences as a child with the church. And it’s not about anger when you’re a child, either.

I just never . . . bought it.

I remember sitting in those little classroom chairs every sunday feeling mischievous thinking that everyone else, even the teacher, felt the same way. We just shouldn’t say it out loud. I was always waiting for them to get serious.

And I still don’t buy it.

Log in to write a note
T
November 20, 2008

Thanks for the note. The experience of this world cannot possibly be the same for each of us. Whatever motivations we have for the workings of the world are our own. Me, call me a sucker but I’m a believer. But that’s just my experience.

November 20, 2008

i’ve felt the same way my entire life.