Stick a Fork in Me

 

Where to begin…..Michael is not going to Afghanistan after all. Seems he is staying here to help with the unit. I am glad he isn’t going so far away but if he doesn’t stop hanging out with the people he is at the moment he is headed for trouble. It should tell you something when I would almost rather my son be in a war zone than with these people. He is an adult and I have done my job. That is my mantra now.
Then (and I am going to have to word this carefully) I am dealing with something that has my stomach tied in knots. Someone I love might be in very grave danger. I cannot and will not give names but it is NOT normal for a young person (under age 45) to "fall" twice within a week. This was not a "oops" this was a swollen jaw and other bruises from "falling" off a porch after midnight. Less than two days later and I am called to Emergency because this same person has "fallen" again. Her face looks someone drug her behind a car down an ugly stretch of blacktop and she has a broken arm. The hospital had her in isolation and questioned her. I questioned her and have gotten nowhere. She (the doctor) did tests and there is no evidence of brain damage (from the ‘fall’) or anything abnormal neurologically. The doctor said it is not normal for a person her age to fall without at least attempting to block the fall.  Basically she landed ON HER FACE both times. The arm could have happened when she hit the concrete steps. We aren’t leaving her alone.  She has a parade of people in and out of the house at all hours which is good. It is just making me crazy with worry and rage. Yes law enforcement was there and is aware of the situation. I have talked and talked and not one word gives me peace. It hurts to know that she didn’t want me notified. Then all I hear is "Please don’t be mad". I am so beyond mad that I am not even in the same galaxy as mad. I know that I can’t "make" her do anything. So I just keep hugging (gently) and asking questions. The story doesn’t change, not one word and that is a red flag. If this man is beating her someone will have to post bail.  For ME. Which is better? Aluminum or wood baseball bats? I am thinking about getting one. I hear they are very useful. You could use it to break a window if you locked your keys in the car. You could use it to prop open a door. Wait…I’m thinking…..

Log in to write a note
November 6, 2010

I know what you mean about the company your son is keeping. Went through that many years ago with my younger son.

November 7, 2010
January 3, 2011