Longing

I have felt the gentle tug on my heart and soul for so long now that it is a part of me. It could best be described as a elusive whisper that dances just beyond the boundaries of what is firm and familiar. Words need not be spoken for the language to be understood.
Many things are certain. My eyes are blue. My heart has been broken because I have loved.  I also know that this restless searching thread that runs through me vehemently insists I do not belong here.
The routines are familiar and most are done without a conscious effort. I do what must be done and little more. With only the rare exception the faces blur together forming a mosaic of indistinct lines and diluted colors.
I feel part of me yearning for something "more". I hear the sound of a horse’s hooves striking cobblestones and deep inside a part of me stops breathing so nothing detracts from that glorious echo. To my knowledge I have never been around horses but this rhythm is familiar and achingly dear to me.
I long for a time when courtesy and respect was the norm and not a source of scorn and ridicule. There was a time, and it seems so long ago, when silver and gray denoted hard won wisdom and were not considered a weakness or something to be hidden. Childhood was innocent and filled with wonder.
Long ago, a gentleman held doors and watched his language when he was in the company of a lady. He tipped his hat as a matter of course. Ladies were regarded as delicate, to be treasured and protected. There was grace and charm in simple every day activities.
The dress was structured and somewhat formal. There were hats and gloves and lace up boots. Effort was taken to appear clean and presentable in public. Certain behavior was not acceptable in public, not so much out of a sense of formality but as a sign of respect for others.
I long for an afternoon of conversation over cups of tea or tall glasses of lemonade without the jarring intrusion of cell phones. Time seems to pass a bit more slowly when the windows are open, an afternoon breeze teasing the curtains so that they float up and back down again in a lazy dance. The murmur of voices and the occasional burst of laughter drift out the window as the soft breeze retreats gently tugging the curtains as if begging them to follow.
Today the pull is stronger than ever. The distinct "clip-clop" of the horse’s hooves reverberates through me. The world is moving so fast now. I know that I cannot stop it but I do wish that I could slow it down if only for a short time.

Log in to write a note
March 3, 2011

I really like and identify with this entry.

March 3, 2011

QbeDo said it for me. A great many years ago, I remember hearing about opera star Madam Schumann Heink bringing a New York Metropolitan audience to tears singing Home Sweet Home. The news went world wide. Home meant much more then than now. People had roots from living in the same place for generations. They move around too much to have roots now, and home no longer means what it did then. Rethe clopping of horses hoofs, I remember that sound as a boy. will be 97 this coming June 12. Automobiles hadn’t displaced many horses then. The Amish people don’t use modern things. Their homes have no phones or electricity. There’s a large Amish community at Lancaster, pennsylvania. I saw many horse drawn Amish buggies there. Their hooves beat trenches in the middle of city streets. Willy